So how to disable OTA updates in Droid PRO?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by semya, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. semya

    semya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read about a number of ways to disable the OTA updates, but none worked 100%. Root Explorer wasn't able to rename otacerts.zip due to lack of permissions... and system files... why? So I did this via terminal, and the file is now renamed. However, other commands in the instructions did not match the file system in the Droid PRO, and failed with not finding all needed folders. Is there a way to correctly disable OTA updates from Verizon? They keep downloading and there's NO WAY to cancel that... quite pricy on 3G.

    Thanks
     
  2. semya

    semya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump... really not anyone interested in disabling them and fixing issues with not-validated updates downloaded every time?
     
  3. semya

    semya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    today this thing started to annoy me every 5 minutes. it's just downloading 15 MB file over and over again, even when I'm on 3G, and it sucks. has anyone found a way to disable OTA updates on Droid PRO completely?
     
  4. Kaos2flo

    Kaos2flo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    Wait...
    1. I never get ota updates daily.
    2. Shouldn't you have unlimited 3g?
     
  5. semya

    semya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope. i'm on a per-MB plan
     
  6. Kaos2flo

    Kaos2flo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    I didn't know Verizon started doing that.
     
  7. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was only one OTA update I know of since the Pro's launch. What version are you on currently? Was your phone ever updated to the latest?
     
Search tags for this page

enable ota to droid pro