deleted stock system/ROM.

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by nhepler90, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    Was using ss 3.11 to install a new ROM. Forgot to activate a different ROM slot before doing a system wipe. Is there a completely factory stock ROM anyone can point me in the direction of? I have done this before and I do not want to sbf my phone back to stock and start over with a completely blank slate again. I also did a backup of the stock ROM but for some reason when I renamed it, it fudged it up and doesn't work.

    As always, thanks in advance.
     
  2. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry if this is in the wrong section.
     
  3. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    Edited to remove double post.
     
    #3 nhepler90, Jun 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,964
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,736
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Right forum or wrong, this member needs our help. Let's get the ROM the member needs to take the phone back to stock without wiping. I'm thinking that three Droid RAZR utility would serve the purpose fine. Anyone else have a better suggestion?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    I already have the droid utility to do a complete factory reset that makes it like it just came out of the box,

    Is there a ROM that is the official jelly bean 4.1.2 out there that I can just flash over the stock ROM slot? I am currently running spyder nightly build from 6/15/2013 that is the 4.2.2. If there isn't a completely stock ROM I may just end up keeping it this way so I don't have to sbf back.

    And I appreciate the reply. A lot of these posts seem to go nowhere fast...
     
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,964
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,736
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Actually there is the option to wipe while flashing, but you don't have to wipe with the utility. I could look but I'm away from the PC. There are two selections in the menu and one allows the flashing but doesn't destroy data. The other option is to simply side-load the ROM right from the Fastboot menu.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am currently away from my PC as well. I will boot up the utility when I get off work and post results if successful or not.
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,964
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,736
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Correction...Option 1 flashes, but wipes data as well...Option 2 flashes but doesn't wipe, instead it leaves everything as it was and simply flashes the kernel and OS over the existing. This is the instruction page; Utility Belt

    App download links;

    Mirrors:
    Dev-Host
    NetLoad
    Batakang

    Now, one thing...if you flashed a custom ROM over the stock ROM, there is the possibility that the apps will need to be reinstalled anyway.

    P.S. Merged two threads into this one.
     
    #8 FoxKat, Jun 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  9. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    I didn't flash over stock, I completely erased the stock slot. I am on ROM slot 2 with a spyder nightly build. If I activate stock and reboot the screen stays black. No Motorola m logo or anything and have to hold power until it shuts off.
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,964
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,736
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    OK, so Guidot is perhaps the resident expert here with Safestrap and perhaps it's a good idea to give him a shout. I've sent him a PM. Give it a bit and he'll likely come here to address you.
     
  11. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    well i am at my laptop now and was going to try and see if I can just activate the stock ROM slot then boot into ap fastboot and use the utility and just flash the kernel and os. I can just re-download my apps, I just didn't want to have to sbf my phone and have to go through the hastle of rooting and putting safestrap and such on my phone again. it seems like whenever I find the perfect setup for my phone, I find a way to mess up my phone and have to sbf back to complete stock. lol
     
  12. nhepler90

    nhepler90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I did as I said I would try; booted into safestrap, switched back to stock ROM slot, booted into AP fastboot, used the DROID utility with option 2 (flash jellybean without data wipe) which gave me back the stock ROM, re-rooted and installed safestrap 3.11 (via utility), rebooted into recovery and my ROM in ROM slot 2 was still set up so I didn't have to re-flash any of that. once again, thanks for the help and links!
     
Search tags for this page
deleted system razr need stock
,

droid razr delete stock rom

,

droid razr xt912 spyder stock rom

,
i deleted my stock rom on motorola xt912 what should i do now
,
maxx safestrap. xt1080 roms
,
motorola xt912 system delete
,
os is deleted in xt910
,
rom stock droid 3
,
spyder 4.1.2 stock ss backup
,
xt912 erased system