Anyone willing to provide a fresh JB nandroid backup file?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by DmdStar, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As mentioned in another thread, I totally broke my phone after upgrading by restoring something I apparently shouldn't have from Titanium Backup. No amount of factory resets or reinstalls of the JB zip resolved the issue, thus it must be something in system causing the problem.

    To resolve this, I would like to try restoring a nandroid backup to the stock rom slot via Safestrap 3.11. Would anyone be willing to provide a backup file for fresh install of stock 4.1.2?

    Thanks!
  2. NeoPhoenixTE
    Offline

    NeoPhoenixTE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Honestly, you're better off SBFing to the stock ICS build and then applying the JB OTA patch to it. That will be like you just got your phone from Verizon, and then got the JB OTA patch while leaving the store.

    (Holy cow we use a lot of acronyms around here)

    Edit: Didn't realize you had already made the JB jump. Terribly sorry. Disregard my above advice. :(
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  3. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering about that, but was afraid of bricking the phone after sbf. Will recovery still be working after sbf to ics after jb is already installed?

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  4. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    He will brick his phone if he does that. He is already on JB as one of the soak testers and he didn't like something so he restored some apps from titanium and all hell broke loose. If he tries to downgrade to ICS then he will need a new phone.
  5. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gess that answers that... so back to nandroid. :)

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  6. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    No, the nandroid might work but you definitely should not sbf ICS if you already installed JB.
  7. GigaJake
    Offline

    GigaJake New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    So he would have to be in fastboot and would enter fastboot flash system system.img?
  9. GigaJake
    Offline

    GigaJake New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just provided a nandroid for safestrap. It's only restorable in safestrap.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  10. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ok, you mentioned system only so I thought it was a system image.
  11. GigaJake
    Offline

    GigaJake New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope. Just a safestrap backup excluding my own data.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  12. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    On xda someone was having fastboot failures so someone provided the system image and fastboot still failed. This doesn't have any bearing on whether flashing the nandroid will work, but assuming it doesn't work, flashing the system image doesn't seem to work either.
  13. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, GigaJake! You rock. Here's hopin'... I'll update with results. Kinda scared to do it now that I can. LOL...

    I suppose I could back up my current stock and restore to slot 2, and restore your file over that one... that would tell me if it breaks it or not, I suppose. :)
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  14. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh my... that was apparently a baaaaaaad idea. As a test, your backup restored to slot2; and it worked perfectly. All errors disappeared.

    When I restored to stock slot, it rendered the device unbootable. It makes the *droid* sound, and screen lights up, but no logo, and nothing appears on the screen.

    I can still get into safestrap, so switched back to a working ROM slot. I'm wondering if it might be possible for someone to whip up a completely stock (non deodexed) ROM zip that I could try to flash to the stock slot...? Don't know if it would be any different, but thought it might be worth a shot.
  15. GigaJake
    Offline

    GigaJake New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gonna check the obvious, did you wipe data and cache on the stock slot? Don't know why a rom slot would work better than the stock slot.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  16. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL... yeah, wiped data & cache on stock slot, restored the backup file twice.

    Yeah, I had the same thought. No idea why it would work perfectly on slot2, but not on the stock slot. I was very excited when slot2 worked. Thinking maybe I'll take a backup of the working slot2 and try to restore that to stock... not sure what it could hurt at this point. :blink:
  17. GigaJake
    Offline

    GigaJake New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess. Just keep something working so your phone is still functional until the jb sbf files drop.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  18. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, that appears to be the only hope. I tried restoring the *working* slot2 to the stock slot, wiped cache & data, and that is no go as well. Just blackness after the safestrap screen.

    I'm wondering if I remove safestrap and try to reapply the update if that would spark some life into it, but considering that if it doesn't work, I'll most certainly have a brick, am not in a big hurry to do that. :)

    I'm ok running on another slot in safestrap... it's what I normally do anyway. But is annoying to know that my phone is completely shot otherwise.

    Sure hope fastboot files show up before I decide its time to sell this thing. :frown:

    Thanks for your help and advice though.
  19. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    the nandroid is a large file, did you download 349mb?
    would not having user data, like safestrap app, cause a problem?
    safestrap may not be, completely compatible with this jellybean version
  20. DmdStar
    Offline

    DmdStar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup... as mentioned, it restored perfectly to slot2, so user data not an issue. Perhaps there's something weird about JB kernel that makes nandroid restore bomb on stock slot for some reason?

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page

how to install nandroid patch droid x2

,

where can i find nandroid file

,

working droid x2 backup file