Cyanogenmod

elvyrorie

Reaction score
I know that this may sound like a silly question, but I've googled it and can't fine an answer. Why is cyanogenmod not available for the droid 2. I've read that the bootloader is locked, but I thought that there was a way around that. Forgive me if I sound silly, but I'm an accountant not a developer.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
Running the lastest version of fission and loving it.

mjones1052

Reaction score
It is because of the bootloader. Cyanogen ROM's really need access to the whole phone. We have a way around recovery, called bootstrapping, but the bootloader and kernel is something different which we haven't actually tackled yet, but it is getting close I hear. But we have overclocking and ROMs and custom recovery for D2, which is a big step, but we still need bootloader and kernel, which is the big 2.

OP
elvyrorie

elvyrorie

Reaction score
Thanks that answers my question. Thanks for the quick reply.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

pc747

Rescue Squad
Reaction score
It is because of the bootloader. Cyanogen ROM's really need access to the whole phone. We have a way around recovery, called bootstrapping, but the bootloader and kernel is something different which we haven't actually tackled yet, but it is getting close I hear. But we have overclocking and ROMs and custom recovery for D2, which is a big step, but we still need bootloader and kernel, which is the big 2.

THe only way we can get around the bootloader is if moto give us the key...the group that was tackling unlocking the bootloader packed it in.

crome1115

Reaction score