Cyanogenmod 6 Kernel

Discussion in 'Koush' started by doublea500, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have Cyanogenmod 6 installed on my droid. i dont have any kernels. i was wondering if i could just use setcpu instead of a kernel. if not, what kernel should i use (i just want a kernel that saves battery and works. maybe like a 7 slot and like a 800 max voltage.)
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    No, you cannot use SetCPU instead of a kernel. Without a kernel your phone will not boot. The kernel built-into CM6 is a modified stock kernel that runs up to 800MHz with SetCPU or while flash is playing, otherwise it runs at 600MHz when under load.

    If you want to save battery you don't want MAX voltage you want low or ultra-low voltage. For those you'll want to try ChevyNo1's kernels, preferably the 8-1-2010 kernels since the latest version doesn't seem to like CyanogenMod 6 -- however, not all phones can run Chevy's kernels. 7-slot kernels are a requirement of FroYo.

    If you have any other questions, please ask.
     
  3. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    forum.cyanogenmod.com

    Lots of kernels on there if you want to browse
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    I keep forgetting they have a forum till I have an issue. :) Thanks, titans!