Computer doesn't recognize my Razr Maxx

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Virago, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. Virago

    Virago New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I first got the Maxx I was able to connect it to the computer. Now, all of a sudden, I can't.
    I plug it into the usb port and it charges, so I know the cord works, but I can't move data between the phone and my computer. I go to Start, Computer, but I don't see the device

    I have Windows 7 64 bit

    Any help?
     
  2. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Are you using a USB port on the front of the desktop or back? The ones in the back are much better.
     
  3. wcjeep

    wcjeep Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +18
    Are you running anti virus on the phone? If so, uninstall then connect to the computer. If you're running avast this is definitely your problem
     
  4. AJC1616

    AJC1616 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Make sure you are using the usb cable that was supplied with your phone. Some cables are charge only, not data transfer.
     
  5. covard

    covard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope that you have figured out what was wrong, but just in case . . . .
    When you connect with the USB cable, it brings up a notification in the top bar. It will tell you how the device is connected. If it is "Mass Storage" you should be able to see it as a couple of drives on your computer. If it is in "Media Device" or "Camera", then you won't see the cards.

    Hope you get it working for you.
     
  6. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    +1... some cables are only for charging, some for data transfer and charge.
     
  7. mixesforyou

    mixesforyou New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. Virago

    Virago New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried both, but no luck
     
  9. Virago

    Virago New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't downloaded any anti virus on my phone. Unless the phone came with it, the answer is no :(
     
  10. Virago

    Virago New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going to go by the Verizon store and buy a new one. This is probably it. My phone charges from the computer, but that's all
     
  11. Virago

    Virago New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found the cord that came with the phone! Problem solved!
    Yes, it had to be THAT cord to make the computer recognize the phone.

    Thank you all so much for your help!
     
  12. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Great news virago!
     
  13. mountain_chk

    mountain_chk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Similar Problem...

    I am having a similar problem: I am using a laptop with windows 7 and have updated all my drivers. I am using the cord that came with the phone and I am not aware of any anti virus on my phone (have checked twice, maybe there is something in particular I need to be looking for??). Any help would be greatly appreciated as my computer is not even recognizing a connection...

    I am needing the connection to dump files (pictures/videos mainly) from my phone to my computer. I was thinking of looking for an app that provides a cloud for me to store files and transfer to computer from there. Any recommendations for file transfers? Is there any easier way? Thanks for any help!
     
  14. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,264
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +196
    Also make sure "USB Debugging" is enabled on your phones :)
     
  15. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,174
    Likes Received:
    1,670
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,736
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Try either https://www.box.com/ or https://www.dropbox.com/home. Both Box and Dropbox gives 5GB initially and both have various ways to increase the Free storage, as well as paid storage. Both are "Cloud" based storage systems and both offer desktop clients as well as Apps for the phones, so that sync'ing happens automatically.
     
Search tags for this page
computer doesn't recognize droid razr maxx
,
computer won't recognize razr maxx
,

computer wont recognize droid razr

,
computer wont recognize razr
,
computer wont recognize razr maxx
,
how to connect razr maxx to computer
,
motorola razr maxx wont connect to computer
,

my computer doesnt recognize my droid razr

,

my computer wont recognize my droid razr maxx

,
pc doesn't recognize droid razr