Chomp > Handcent

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by kms1325, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have been using Chomp for the last month and was getting pretty frustrated with it. It was laggy and FC a lot. About a week ago I downloaded Handcent and am loving it. Time will tell but for me Handcent is way better than Chomp.
     
  2. captaincanada84

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used both Handcent and Chomp and I actually prefer Handcent. They're both great, but for some reason I just like Handcent more.
     
  3. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use it. Only thing that's missing is being able to select foreground apps that will prevent the popup. I keep losing Robo Defense games because my wife is texting me :mad:
     
  4. m@tt

    m@tt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have both installed. Had handcent install for awhile now, but I dl chomp to test it out. What I have come up with handcent doesn't pick up all my contacts. If I go type in Wes doesn't pull up his name as contact. When I use chomp can pull his name up. Please explain that? If had to choose one would be handcent.
     
  5. Istus

    Istus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your contact "Wes" a mobile number? Both Handcent and ChompSMS have a setting to only show mobile numbers in its contact list.
     
  6. koralyne

    koralyne Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can it tell?
     
  7. Istus

    Istus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its a smartphone. ;)

    Joking aside, in your contacts list, you can set what type of number it is. Mobile, Home, Work, Pager, Fax etc...
     
  8. m@tt

    m@tt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, I must of missed that.
     
  9. koralyne

    koralyne Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    D'OH *facepalm*

    ... ignore me, stupid question lol
     
  10. liquidzoo

    liquidzoo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go into an individual contact in your conversation list. From there, go into the options screen. Everything looks the same as the overall options, but if you change something in the notifications there (LED, vibrate, ringtone, icon (I think)) it will only change for that specific contact. Very handy.
     
  11. dannygberg

    dannygberg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  12. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 for Handcent never had any problems with it!! Just wish I could backup my settings or something I've given up on try to customize it as I flash ROMs too often these days :\
     
Search tags for this page
chomp sms blacklist display
,

do contacts know they are blacklisted with chomp sms

,
handcent can you get random text with your name
,
hoe do u unblacklist someone on chomp
,
if i blacklist someone on chomp messenger, do they know it?
,
samsung galaxy siii chomp handscent
,
set icon for contact in chomp
,
what does chomp sms blacklist do
,
what does explantion mark mean in chomp sms
,
what does this option mean split by word and add counter