Changing Phone's Name...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Egriko0042, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. Egriko0042
    Offline

    Egriko0042 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello forum.

    I was wondering if anyone knew how to change the name of the phone? Or if this is even possible? For example, Windows sees the device as "Motorola A855" and the Dalvik Debug Monitor lists it as a long string of numbers. Just curious if renaming the phone is possible.

    Thanks!
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Really?, my computer sees mines as removable storage J:
  3. PyroManiac
    Offline

    PyroManiac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    he's not talking about the "mounted SD card in my computer". He is talking about in Device Manager. I do not believe it is possible as this should be hard coded on a "Read only" chip on the board, like a MAC...but i may be wrong on that..
  4. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I was at lunch yesterday and someone else with a bluetooth headset asked to pair with my phone. In discovery mode I came across 2 other typical phone type names and one phone named "Lola" :)
  5. Tehjojo
    Offline

    Tehjojo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Urbana IL
    Settings > Bluetooth Settings > Device Name

    Of course that is only for bluetooth I believe..
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I use a Mac and when I mount my Droid I get an icon that says "no name". Since the only time this icon appears is when I mount my Droid, I do see a need to change the name, so I've not tried.

    Mike
  7. mikes
    Offline

    mikes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you consider the "phone name?"

    The phone appears on USB with USB VID 22B8 & PID 41D9 (different if debug is turned on). USB also provides "iManufacturer" and "iProduct" strings as part of the device descriptor, which is where the "Motorola A855" comes from, so that's really only it's name on USB. This is probably set by one of the files under /system/framework, but it's probably not a good idea to try to change it, it might cause driver havoc.

    If you mount the SD card, you can change the volume name in Windows, same as other disks.

    There's a name which appears to Bluetooth devices, as has been mentioned, which can be changed in settings.

    There's the "model number," shown under "About phone," which you might be able to change in the file /system/build.prop.

    There's the banner which appears on the lock screen, which is ERI (Enhanced Roaming Indication) text, usually "Verizon Wireless." This is defined in res/xml/eri.xml, which is inside of /system/framework/framework-res.apk.
Search tags for this page

change device name moto x

,

change name in moto x

,

change name of android phone

,

change the name of droid

,

change the name of my android razr

,

how do i change the device name on my droid razr

,

how to change name of my name on my droid m

,

how to change owner name on razor m

,

how to change phone number to name on droid

,

how to change the name of a droid x phone

,

how to change the name of my droid

,
how to find the computer name on a droid 4
,

how to name my droid 4

,

name droid phone

,

rooted android phone change name