Changing Phone's Name...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Egriko0042, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. Egriko0042

    Egriko0042 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello forum.

    I was wondering if anyone knew how to change the name of the phone? Or if this is even possible? For example, Windows sees the device as "Motorola A855" and the Dalvik Debug Monitor lists it as a long string of numbers. Just curious if renaming the phone is possible.

    Thanks!
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,970
    Likes Received:
    685
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +741
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Really?, my computer sees mines as removable storage J:
     
  3. PyroManiac

    PyroManiac Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    he's not talking about the "mounted SD card in my computer". He is talking about in Device Manager. I do not believe it is possible as this should be hard coded on a "Read only" chip on the board, like a MAC...but i may be wrong on that..
     
  4. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was at lunch yesterday and someone else with a bluetooth headset asked to pair with my phone. In discovery mode I came across 2 other typical phone type names and one phone named "Lola" :)
     
  5. Tehjojo

    Tehjojo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Urbana IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Settings > Bluetooth Settings > Device Name

    Of course that is only for bluetooth I believe..
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I use a Mac and when I mount my Droid I get an icon that says "no name". Since the only time this icon appears is when I mount my Droid, I do see a need to change the name, so I've not tried.

    Mike
     
  7. mikes

    mikes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you consider the "phone name?"

    The phone appears on USB with USB VID 22B8 & PID 41D9 (different if debug is turned on). USB also provides "iManufacturer" and "iProduct" strings as part of the device descriptor, which is where the "Motorola A855" comes from, so that's really only it's name on USB. This is probably set by one of the files under /system/framework, but it's probably not a good idea to try to change it, it might cause driver havoc.

    If you mount the SD card, you can change the volume name in Windows, same as other disks.

    There's a name which appears to Bluetooth devices, as has been mentioned, which can be changed in settings.

    There's the "model number," shown under "About phone," which you might be able to change in the file /system/build.prop.

    There's the banner which appears on the lock screen, which is ERI (Enhanced Roaming Indication) text, usually "Verizon Wireless." This is defined in res/xml/eri.xml, which is inside of /system/framework/framework-res.apk.
     
Search tags for this page
change device name moto x
,
change name in moto x
,

change name of android phone

,
change the name of my android razr
,
how to change name of my name on my droid m
,
how to change owner name on razor m
,
how to change the name of a droid x phone
,
how to change the name of my droid
,
how to name my droid 4
,

name droid phone