Cellular South Milestone/Droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by msmith198025, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. msmith198025
    Offline

    msmith198025 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, a member at another forum directed me here for some help

    IF the bootloader is locked on the Cell South Droid/Milestone, what danger am I in if I try to install a custom rom? Will it simply not install? Or could it brick.
    I am not sure if it is locked or not, and am not sure how to find out.

    I know that our model number is A854
    my kernal version is 2.6.29-omap1
    build number is _MILER_X1_01.22.0

    I did root it using a version of Easy Root that a member on another forum recommended.

    Any other info that would be helpful to you guys in answering my question, just let me know.

    My main thing is I want to overclock it. I tried Milestone Overclock from the marketplace, but the Model (A854 is not supported). I emailed the developer on that issue.

    Thanks
     
  2. msmith198025
    Offline

    msmith198025 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone mentioned something about flashing a different kernel. Thoughts and advice on doing that?
     
  3. NotThatGuy
    Offline

    NotThatGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Ratings:
    +0
    *while sobbing uncontrolably*


    I'm also interested in this info.. Vz's promised service in my area is TERRIBLE. So.. I've ordered a milestone and have to send my droid X back :(


    *cries more*
     
  4. msmith198025
    Offline

    msmith198025 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, any ideas?
     
  5. snake8421
    Offline

    snake8421 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cellularsouth milestone

    i rooted it and installed rom manager and flashed bugless beast 2.2 successfully.i have been using it for the past day or so with no problems.this version of the milestone does not have a locked bootloader
     
  6. snake8421
    Offline

    snake8421 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cellularsouth milestone

    this phone seems to be the droid with the milestone label on it. i everthing seems to work like voicemail ,internet,etc
     
  7. msmith198025
    Offline

    msmith198025 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that sounds promising. It did it on the first try?
     
  8. snake8421
    Offline

    snake8421 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cellularsouth milestone

    yes i was a little afraid it was not going to work but it seem to be working fine ang i am enjoying 2.2
     
  9. msmith198025
    Offline

    msmith198025 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you have to wipe cache? Someone mentioned going from 2.1 to 2.2 that was needed in some cases.
     
  10. snake8421
    Offline

    snake8421 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cellularsouth milestone

    yes.i did a nandroid backup of the stock rom and wiped the second time the first time i did not wipe and i could not get past the bootanimation so i did a restore and wiped and every thing worked out
     
  11. msmith198025
    Offline

    msmith198025 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you root with easy root? Or something else?
     
  12. snake8421
    Offline

    snake8421 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cellularsouth milestone

    this was a lot easier than the hero.
     
  13. snake8421
    Offline

    snake8421 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cellularsouth milestone

    it was'nt easy root.it is called universalAndroot that i used and it installed superuser
     
  14. msmith198025
    Offline

    msmith198025 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, that is the same one I used.

    So do that, install ROM manager, back up what you need to, and use ROM manager to flash the rom you used?
     
  15. snake8421
    Offline

    snake8421 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cellularsouth milestone

    yes.just put it on root of sdcard or use premium and it will wipe it for you
     
Search tags for this page
c spire apn settings
,

cellular south apn settings

,
how can i program c spire cdma samsung s4 using cdma worksho
,
nex tech wireless apn
,
nex tech wireless apn settings
,
nex tech wireless apn settings mmsc
,
nextech wireless apn
,
verision apn conf
,
what is the apn for nex tech wireless