can you install GB ROMS on thunderbolt

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by nonnasmyladie, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    Nonnasmyladie
    I'm probably gonna get a TB tomorrow but i had a question.

    Will the roms I used on my D1 work on it?

    Can i use GPA15 for instance?

    I hate the interface of the thunderbolt and I want the old one I am used to.

    Is it a whole new ballgame with TB?
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,341
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,826
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Whole new ball game. ROMs are device specific.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  3. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    Nonnasmyladie
    thanks

    I thought that was the case. Thanks.

    So all roms for the TB will have that annoying interface I don't care for? Thats a bummer. I was hoping that android roms would be like OS's that could be used on any device.

    Gotta start this whole search over again.
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,341
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,826
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    You can use a home replacement. I like GOlauncher, but Launcher Pro and ADW are highly rated as well.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  5. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use launcherpro plus and I can skip out on all the sense stiff I don't like...but keep some of what I do like ie: camera, dialer, contacts, lockscreen.

    Soon cm7 will be out for the TB and then you'll see a bunch of gb roms pop up. ChevyNo1 (a well known d1 developer) will soon be on the thunderbolt. I know he's already booted gingerbread too. Also, there should be an ota for gingerbread soon to, then all the roms based off stock will build off that.

    Basically, patience is the key!!!


    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT using Tapatalk
     
  6. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    You can load roms that dont have the sense interface. Soon you will also have Cyanogenmod.
     
  7. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    Nonnasmyladie
    Cynamode was cool but never played nice with my d1.

    Chevy kernals saved my batter life on my d1 so I'd love to see him
    Deving for the TB.

    I'm not gonna root this Guy until its worth it though. It's not an unbrickable phone like the d1. Plus I am not comfortable with my knowledge of the TB yet.

    I could flash a Tom in my sleep on a d1
    sent from my thunderbolt
     
  8. Gunslinger

    Gunslinger Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rutherfordton, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're in luck, he got a TB a few weeks back, and is baking up some GB cookies...

    dancedroid
     
  9. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tb is very much the same from a root standpoint. Instead of rsd lite, you use hboot to flash ruu files. Once rooted, you pretty much do everything from recovery the same way. The only exception i've come across is flashing a new radio. That's an ruu so you flash that with hboot.

    I understand what you were saying about the d1 being "unbrickable", as my last phone was a d1 also. Of course there's always a slim chance of bricking it, but if you can follow instructions the chances are slim to none. My tb is twice as awesome now that I'm rooted. The custom roms are already great and getting better all the time! I don't know what makes it "worth it" to you, but backups, undervolted kernels, custom roms, etc is worth it to me! If you are unsure about anything with it you can pm me and I can point you in the right direction.
     
  10. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    Nonnasmyladie
    Thanks I'm gonna mess around with hboot a little

    sent from my thunderbolt
     
  11. Uzzo

    Uzzo New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    asheville,nc
    Ratings:
    +0
    cm7 asop safest gb rom out
     
  12. blazednova

    blazednova Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^agreed, there have been reports of phones bricking that ran GB and at the moment we have no solid evidence as to why they brick.
    i was running gb until the reports came in, right now i'm playing it safe with Bamf1.7. I MISS GB SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!!!!!!
     
Search tags for this page
gb rom thunderbolt
,

gba roms for htc thunderbolt

,
how to download gba on thunderbolt
,
how to put games on the gameboy emulator on the htc thunderb