[APP] AppWidget Picker - Makes Selecting Widgets Simpler!

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
6,322
Reaction score
31
Location
Ohio
Hate scrolling through all of your different sets of widgets? Then heres an app for you!

boombuler over at XDA wrote this simple app that makes all of our lives easier. Its called AppWidgetPicker and is simple: it groups all of your widgets by packages. Once a widget with multiple sizes is selected, it displays another menu with all of the different choices.

To use it just press menu>add>widgets (like adding regular widgets) and it should appear.

Here's a screenshot to show you what it looks like..
CAP201009181046.jpg


to install, either use ADB or Root Explorer (easiest) or Terminal Emulator

1: Root Explorer.

  • download .apk to sdcard and navigate to using RE.
  • move apk to /system/app (mount to R/W to be able to paste)
  • install by clicking it.
  • change permissions to the following:
  • User: Read, Write; Group: Read; Others: Read
  • click save and restart phone
2: Using ADB
-I dont use adb so heres my best guess on how to use it. to set up adb, see link in my signature

put the .apk on the root of the sdcard
enter the following code:
Code:
Code:
adb devices ##to make sure adb sees your device 
adb remount 
adb shell 
cp /sdcard/appwidgetpicker-1.2.0.apk /system/app 
##if copy didnt work, try next line. if it did, skip next line## 
add push appwidgetpicker-1.2.0.apk /system/app 
adb shell chmod 644 system/app/appwidgetpicker-1.2.0.apk 
adb reboot

and it should be in place for it to use :)

and for those wishing to use terminal emulator, make sure to have the apk in the root the sd card and type the following in the TE

Code:
[COLOR=Black]cp /sdcard/appwidgetpicker-1.2.0.apk /system/app[/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black]chmod 644 system/app/appwidgetpicker-1.2.0.apk[/COLOR]

attached below is the latest version (1.2.0)
AppWidgetPicker-1.2.0.apk



you can find the original thread here at XDA
[App] AppWidgetPicker - xda-developers
 
Last edited:

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
All I had to do for the installation with root explorer was move it to /system/app, change permissions, and reboot.

Though this is a nice change from the cluttered old widget selector we had.

Good find Abe!
 
OP
Abe21599

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
6,322
Reaction score
31
Location
Ohio
All I had to do for the installation with root explorer was move it to /system/app, change permissions, and reboot.

Though this is a nice change from the cluttered old widget selector we had.

Good find Abe!

thats how i did it too, but some prefer adb so i put both.

its a good app concept and im glad someone finally made it
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
All I had to do for the installation with root explorer was move it to /system/app, change permissions, and reboot.

Though this is a nice change from the cluttered old widget selector we had.

Good find Abe!

thats how i did it too, but some prefer adb so i put both.

its a good app concept and im glad someone finally made it

I was talking about your root explorer instructions :)
 
OP
Abe21599

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
6,322
Reaction score
31
Location
Ohio
haha oh no problem :icon_wink:
 

drpaul07

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
362
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
All I had to do for the installation with root explorer was move it to /system/app, change permissions, and reboot.

Though this is a nice change from the cluttered old widget selector we had.

Good find Abe!

Wow this is cool! This might be a really dumb question, but i'll just ask. So after you move it to /system/app, did you not press it and click install(as it says in the OP)? Also, if i wanted the old widget selector back, i would just delete this apk file yes? Thanks!
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
All I had to do for the installation with root explorer was move it to /system/app, change permissions, and reboot.

Though this is a nice change from the cluttered old widget selector we had.

Good find Abe!

Wow this is cool! This might be a really dumb question, but i'll just ask. So after you move it to /system/app, did you not press it and click install(as it says in the OP)? Also, if i wanted the old widget selector back, i would just delete this apk file yes? Thanks!

No, I didn't click install, and yes, deleting it would work just fine.
 

drpaul07

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
362
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
All I had to do for the installation with root explorer was move it to /system/app, change permissions, and reboot.

Though this is a nice change from the cluttered old widget selector we had.

Good find Abe!

Wow this is cool! This might be a really dumb question, but i'll just ask. So after you move it to /system/app, did you not press it and click install(as it says in the OP)? Also, if i wanted the old widget selector back, i would just delete this apk file yes? Thanks!

No, I didn't click install, and yes, deleting it would work just fine.

Thanks for the quick reply!
 

stevonyc35

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
426
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
can i install this on the samsung fascinate? im rooted and using root explorer.

tried to paste it to system/app but root explorer is not allowing me to change to mount r/w.

please help.
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
can i install this on the samsung fascinate? im rooted and using root explorer.

tried to paste it to system/app but root explorer is not allowing me to change to mount r/w.

please help.

I think adding and deleting files in the system requries a NAND unlock, which just having root alone doesn't give. sorry :(
 

stevonyc35

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
426
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
can i install this on the samsung fascinate? im rooted and using root explorer.

tried to paste it to system/app but root explorer is not allowing me to change to mount r/w.

please help.

I think adding and deleting files in the system requries a NAND unlock, which just having root alone doesn't give. sorry :(

nevermind, i downloaded the apk and installed it and it works.
im a dunce!
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
can i install this on the samsung fascinate? im rooted and using root explorer.

tried to paste it to system/app but root explorer is not allowing me to change to mount r/w.

please help.

I think adding and deleting files in the system requries a NAND unlock, which just having root alone doesn't give. sorry :(

nevermind, i downloaded the apk and installed it and it works.
im a dunce!

Well I honestly never thought about trying that. Does it work fine?

Sent from my Droid
 
OP
Abe21599

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
6,322
Reaction score
31
Location
Ohio
just uploaded the 1.2.0 (newest) version so you dont have to make a new account over at XDA
 

iPhoneBlowz

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
177
Reaction score
0
Location
New Freedom, PA
I love this! I had one calendar with 11 different sized and Beautiful Widgets has like 9. It's so much cleaner. Great job to the dev.
 
Top