1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Much simpler guide for rooting (no pc required)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Eousphoros, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. Eousphoros
    Offline

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if your like me, the idea of having to use a computer to root your phone just seems like to much of a hassle to bother with. Well good news everyone! I now have a method for rooting that shiny new phone from the phone itself.

    So first things first, go get the usual suspects

    rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    su
    Superuser.apk
    Some sort of terminal emulator, there are a couple of free ones in the market.
    And until myself or someone who is less lazy rolls a version of rage that doesn't check for adb you will have to enable USB debugging.

    Settiings -> applications -> development -> USB debugging.

    The links for these guys are in this forum and I'm lazy. Now get those guys on your phone however best you see fit. Most likely they will end up in /sdcard or /sdcard/downloads. Finally, here is the meat.
    * EDIT: any line below that starts with a * is optional

    - open up your favorite terminal emulator program
    - cd /tmp
    - cp /sdcard/rage*.bin /tmp/
    - chmod 777 rage*.bin
    - ./rage*.bin
    - ignore it's output, we are thinking outside of the box here, just wait for it to finish and return a $
    - now go to settings -> applications -> manage applications -> running -> terminal and force close that girlie
    - relaunch the terminal app and you should be greeted with the friendly # symbol. Toda you now have a root shell
    - the rest is pretty much the same.
    - mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - cp /sdcard/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk
    - cp /sdcard/su /system/bin/su
    * cp /sdcard/busybox /system/bin/busybox
    - chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    * chmod 4755 /system/bin/busybox
    - mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - exit

    Once your all done, go ahead and reboot your phone. Good luck and happy hacking. If I get bored I'll explain why this works, if I get really bored I'll turn this into a one click app

    * EDIT: Undoing the damage, if you decide to unroot.

    - open your trusty terminal app
    - you should see a $ symbol, now do the following
    - su
    - now you should see a # symbol
    - mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
    - rm /system/bin/su
    * rm /system/bin/busybox
    - mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - reboot your phone. Toda, no more root
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  2. phartwig
    Offline

    phartwig New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    would love the one clock app. I just came from the droid 1 and loved the simplicity of its rooting. Really nervous with the command prompt stuff for the 2.
  3. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I couldn't get the adb stuff to work.
    I prefer the command line, I'm use to that.
  4. hyatari
    Offline

    hyatari New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude the adb methods really no big deal. If you can't handle simple instructions you probably shouldn't root your phone in the first place. Besides, you might actually learn something for future reference.
  5. AngDroid
    Offline

    AngDroid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked like a charm. I think you would be doing everyone a big favor by making a one click app :)
  6. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Don't be nervous, it isn't too hard.
    I see folks have problems with both methods. There are tons of posts here of folks who clicked a button, sat back to wait, then went and created a thread asking for help because they got stuck.

    The command line stuff comes down to:

    type in the line
    slap the enter key
    repeat until out of lines

    Knowing what each line does helps too. The first word of each line are all linux commands and can be searched out on the net.

    If you didn't want to type that all on the phone then you can learn how to run a script file (simple instructions here: How to Create a Simple Shell Script on Linux) and make one for each of the above steps. That cuts down on in-phone typing for you.

    Good guide Eousphoros. I'm in the camp that likes steps laid out right where you can see them, not hidden behind a button.
  7. phartwig
    Offline

    phartwig New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Oh I can handle them just fine it just makes me nervous. Im not rich and cant afford a new phone should I brick it. The droid 1 just to me seemed easier.
  8. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Don't insult me when you don't even know what happened.

    I kept getting the error command not recognized. I added it to my path, it still didn't work. I didn't have an adb.exe, it isn't anywhere on my PC.

    I use root on a daily basis at work. I have built more AIX lpars than you have hairs on your head.
    I use lpar mobility between 2 P520's and a P750 with 6 different VIO servers, every single lpar is virtualized and built from the NIM server that I built.
  9. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    What was always key to me was having a path back to undo that which I was about to do. Having "do-overs" is cool. That way if you do mess up you have a fallback plan. My d1 is still rocking on btw. I'm hoping it lasts another year without going on the fritz.
  10. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I can finally take screenshots.

    Thanks Eousphoros.
  11. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Question for the OP why are there commands for busy box? Can't an installation of busy box occur once you've rooted your phone and installed Titanium? I'm just thinking that if there is a way to take additional code out of there that might be it.

    I think my fear is there is no back up that is done like with SPRecovery. And can you overclock this puppy if I did root?

    The fact that you do it all on your phone makes it interesting. I may consider it.
  12. evilsock
    Offline

    evilsock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    knox county TN
    wow beats the pants of my how to, bravo.
  13. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yours helped many people too.
  14. evilsock
    Offline

    evilsock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    knox county TN
    i wasnt upset. hell thats what these forums are for. were about an app away from one click root on D2,DX.. woohooo!
  15. phartwig
    Offline

    phartwig New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yeah thats what is holding me back right now. SPr was wondeful for the one time I messed up and my phone went tits up. Installed fresh stock rom rooted again and continued. I want to root but want that security to restart over should my phone dislike what I did.
  16. Eousphoros
    Offline

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Updated the guide to indicate busy box as optional, though really it's a useful tool to have so I recommend putting it on there. I also added an unroot guide that should be useful for people who want to revert.

    Thanks to evil sock and the other guides that came before, it was thru my pure laziness last night, my refusal to walk five feet to my pc that spawned this guide. Speaking of spawning, here is why this works.

    There is a limit to how many processes a user can own, on froyo I think it's somewhere around 3000. So what happens when you try to launch a new process after you reach that limit? Glad you asked. Well since when the process initially gets spawned it is launched as root, then changes the uid to match that of the user. Well in this case there are no more free process slots available, aka it can't fork. Since there is no check to ensure the process correctly dropped it's privileges we now have a shiny new root level process.
  17. Eousphoros
    Offline

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, as for over clocking. Setcpu works, however you are capped at 1ghz. That being said, you could adjust the CPU profiles for better battery life or performance.
  18. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Where are all of my Unix commands in terminal emulator?

    No output from ps -ef, no more, no pg, no sar, etc.

    At least cat, netstat -rn and echo $PATH work.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  19. Eousphoros
    Offline

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just use ps, as for those other commands, they aren't installed on your phone, well kinda.

    Busybox provides a lot of the functionality that your wanting. Check this out.

    Mount /system read,write

    Now here is the magic

    - ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/more

    Now you have the more command, yay! For a full listing of busy box commands, just type in /system/bin/busybox and it will output the commands it was built with. Huzzah!
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2010
  20. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nice. Ping, kill, nslookup, ifconfig, much better. Thanks again.
Search tags for this page
how to root droid 1 without computer
,

how to root without a computer

,

how to root without computer

,
how to root without pc
,
root droid 1 without computer
,
root droid 2 without computer
,
root droid without pc
,
root fascinate without pc
,
root phone without computer
,
root samsung epic without pc
,
root samsung fascinate without computer
,

root without computer

,

root without pc

,
rooting phone without computer
,
rooting without computer