Much simpler guide for rooting (no pc required)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Eousphoros, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yours helped many people too.
     
  2. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    i wasnt upset. hell thats what these forums are for. were about an app away from one click root on D2,DX.. woohooo!
     
  3. phartwig

    phartwig Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah thats what is holding me back right now. SPr was wondeful for the one time I messed up and my phone went tits up. Installed fresh stock rom rooted again and continued. I want to root but want that security to restart over should my phone dislike what I did.
     
  4. Eousphoros

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Updated the guide to indicate busy box as optional, though really it's a useful tool to have so I recommend putting it on there. I also added an unroot guide that should be useful for people who want to revert.

    Thanks to evil sock and the other guides that came before, it was thru my pure laziness last night, my refusal to walk five feet to my pc that spawned this guide. Speaking of spawning, here is why this works.

    There is a limit to how many processes a user can own, on froyo I think it's somewhere around 3000. So what happens when you try to launch a new process after you reach that limit? Glad you asked. Well since when the process initially gets spawned it is launched as root, then changes the uid to match that of the user. Well in this case there are no more free process slots available, aka it can't fork. Since there is no check to ensure the process correctly dropped it's privileges we now have a shiny new root level process.
     
  5. Eousphoros

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, as for over clocking. Setcpu works, however you are capped at 1ghz. That being said, you could adjust the CPU profiles for better battery life or performance.
     
  6. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Where are all of my Unix commands in terminal emulator?

    No output from ps -ef, no more, no pg, no sar, etc.

    At least cat, netstat -rn and echo $PATH work.
     
    #18 pool_shark, Sep 12, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  7. Eousphoros

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just use ps, as for those other commands, they aren't installed on your phone, well kinda.

    Busybox provides a lot of the functionality that your wanting. Check this out.

    Mount /system read,write

    Now here is the magic

    - ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/more

    Now you have the more command, yay! For a full listing of busy box commands, just type in /system/bin/busybox and it will output the commands it was built with. Huzzah!
     
    #19 Eousphoros, Sep 12, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2010
  8. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Nice. Ping, kill, nslookup, ifconfig, much better. Thanks again.
     
  9. Eousphoros

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad I was able to help.

    Progress on modifying the droid 2 has been painfully slow. So I decided that I have to actually start contributing. Like the saying goes, if you want something done, do it yourself. ;)
     
  10. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I figured out how to get control c, any idea how to get esc k?
     
  11. Eousphoros

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does pressing [ok]+k at the same time give you what you want? What are you trying to do?
     
  12. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Trying to bring back my last command after set -o vi.
    [ok]+k doesn't work.
     
Search tags for this page
how to root droid 1 without computer
,
how to root without a computer
,
how to root without computer
,
root droid 2 without computer
,
root droid without pc
,
root fascinate without pc
,
root phone without computer
,
root samsung fascinate without computer
,

root without computer

,
root without pc