Am I in trouble?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by betolley, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. betolley

    betolley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a background with Windows Mobile phones and have been unlocking them and flashing roms for years...But I just go a droid(a much diff beast).

    I rooted the droid.
    I installed droidmod 1.0 with the droid mod updater everything was fine.
    I got a message saying battery was low...
    I pluged in power cable to the notebook computer and continued.
    I found the smokeless glass rom. I downloaded it.
    Put in in the SDcard directory.
    Rebooted with X and power.
    Choose to install Rom.
    Had dm droid and SmokedGlass rom listed.
    Choose SmokedGlass Rom.
    It said installed sucessfully after i choose what parts to install
    I choose reboot.
    I get a M motorolla logo and freeze.
    Removed and replaced battery. WIll not power on at all.
    Had to recharge (an hour)
    Press X and Power...Get W logo and phone turns off. Then will not power on.
    If I leave it plugged in it has a charging light.
    If I press the power button and walk away 5-10 minutes the W logo comes back and just sits there(no recharge light...I have to reset battery to change again)


    So....am I sol with my new phone or do I just need to let it charge as it was below 5%(i know i was excited).
     
  2. CatsTide

    CatsTide Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bama
    Ratings:
    +0
    you,my friend,have a dead battery...let it charge for a while:icon_ banana:
     
  3. betolley

    betolley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks...Your awesome.
     
  4. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Yes....don't mess with it...just let it charge. Check it in the morning. Get some sleep (i know it will be hard though) If it makes you feel better i had the exact problem
     
  5. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +227
    A good rule of thumb. Don't install ROMs with less than 60% battery. The process takes a lot and leads to boot loops and failed boots. When the phone cannot boot it can take up to 10hrs to recharge. So sit tight and check in the morning.
     
  6. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    lol, yes...like a kid on Christmas morning...rushing down to see how it is doing:)

    Let it charge on a wall charger too, not on the laptop. It will charge much faster.
     
  7. betolley

    betolley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It never charged. I let it charge 8 hrs on a computers usb port and 8 on my usb / ac converter that came with my old htc diamond. I ended up going to work and getting the droid usb / ac converter. The phone came on, charged, and is working fine.
     
  8. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    Dumb question..... When you had it plugged into the USB port, was the PC in sleep mode? I know it sounds obvious, but the reason I ask is that not all motherboards provide power to the USB ports in standby. Some do, specifically for charging - but not all.

    As for the HTC charger not working, i'm pretty sure the Droid only reliably charges with its OEM charger. Even aftermarket chargers marketed towards the Droid can be unreliable at best.

    Glad to hear you got it working!
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Whenever I connect my Droid to my Mac with my USB it charges my Droid. Not sure id the Mac mother board is the reason.

    Mike
     
  10. betolley

    betolley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I have a Mythtv System that does not sleep that I use to recharge. It charges the phone now that the power was not all the way discharged.
     
  11. PetRiLJoe

    PetRiLJoe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Opelika, AL
    Ratings:
    +1
    I want to add to this because desktop computer charges my phone very poorly, but my Acer laptop charges my phone exceptionally well. Indeed the charge rate is dependent on something, could be the motherboard, or just the wind. :)