Working Netflix on APEX 2.0

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by brenneisec, May 13, 2011.

  1. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Feeling down about not being able to stream Netflix while on Apex?

    Cheer up! There is a fix.

    1. Download this file: build.prop
    2. Place file on the root of your SD card
    3. Using a root explorer app such as ES File Explorer, long press on the file and copy it
    4. Navigate to the /system/ folder
    5. Paste the file - You must replace the old build.prop
    6. Reboot
    7. Download the DX Netflix.apk: Netflix for the Droid X (the normal netflix.apk will not work)
    8. Enjoy
    dancedroid
    Last edited: May 13, 2011
  2. mlwald79
    Offline

    mlwald79 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm whenever I try that I get "build.prop copy failed"
  3. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Make sure you mount

    Sent from my Nexus S using DroidForums
  4. mlwald79
    Offline

    mlwald79 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    That worked! Im now watching The Big Lebowski on my phone! awesome

    dancedroid
  5. mlwald79
    Offline

    mlwald79 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    although, my overclock app quit working now. oh well, i'd rather have netflix.
  6. Slow88lx
    Offline

    Slow88lx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Crap, yeah. No Droid overclock anymore...?
  7. bigshotrob22
    Offline

    bigshotrob22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    JRummy has a zip that doesn't modify the build.prop and it fixes the Netflix issue.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. Slow88lx
    Offline

    Slow88lx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I made the newb mistake of not making a copy of the original build prop. Can anyone upload a copy for me?
  9. DMFA
    Offline

    DMFA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does that zip work only for Liberty, or for ApeX too?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. bigshotrob22
    Offline

    bigshotrob22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Its for Liberty but I run Apex and it worked like a charm...

    Here's the link...

    http://goo.gl/EX1Y8

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. DMFA
    Offline

    DMFA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just pulled it from twitter, thanks a lot, very much appreciated :)

    JRummy just earned himself some more $!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  12. devinhfox
    Offline

    devinhfox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running apex 2.0.0
    The zip doesn't do squat for me. Netflix Still complains about device not being compatible.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  13. Droid_Junky
    Offline

    Droid_Junky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    It worked for me. I changed the build.prop back to normal. Uninstalled Netflix. Loaded zip through recovery and then re-installed app.
  14. oo3
    Offline

    oo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    I can confirm that flashing the netflix.zip from Jrummy fixes the Netflix issue on Apex 2.0. So awesome!
  15. doomedromance
    Offline

    doomedromance New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waianae
    Unzip the APEX rom and pull it from there. Or just extract out that file from the zip on your computer.
  16. scrimp212
    Offline

    scrimp212 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is bad ace thats for sure.
  17. 04CiviCon20s
    Offline

    04CiviCon20s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    It all works for me w/Jrummy's fix. Video is not too sharp though. It seems like it gets clear than choppy then clear then Choppy..
  18. lawrence87
    Offline

    lawrence87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Well I'm running deodex .591 right now. i want to switch to apex once it gets out of beta. but i switched out the build prop on mine and installed the netflix and it runs great Wifi or 3G. I been watching farscape and it goes clear to choppy sometimes but its mostly clear. if you have service that varies it changes but as soon as it gets good service. Ive watched on both and its been great. :icon_ banana:
  19. Slow88lx
    Offline

    Slow88lx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. Worked, and so did jrummys zip.
  20. cleopete
    Offline

    cleopete New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably network load. My tv/comp does the same thing when bandwidth gets squeezed. Netflix scales the image quality to maintain the stream. Both my X and my TV tend to settle down within a minute or two.
Search tags for this page
apex apps netflix
,

apex netflix

,
apex tv and netflix
,
apex tv logoff netflix
,
can you watch netflix on apex tv
,
how to get netfix on apex tv
,
how to get netflix on apex tv
,

how to watch netflix on apex tv

,
netflix on apex tv?
,
netflix streaming apex