WiFi Connectivity problem?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Bob Dammit, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    After a couple days, my Droid, and my wife's Eris will not connect to our wireless network. The network shows as an available network, and tries to connect, but times out trying to obtain an IP. Rebooting the router fixes the issue, but the other 2 computers on my network connect with out a problem. Is this a Droid/Eris problem, a router problem, or a little of both?
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    There have been alot of users with this same problem....Might want to search to see whats out there...I have not been having this issue with my droid or the wifes Eris...
  3. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Relocated

    thread relocated guys. I will be merging this one in a few minutes also
  4. lkevinl
    Offline

    lkevinl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What type of router is this? Could be an issue with the router. Had this happen with my ipod/laptop once... kept on having to reboot my router... finally updated the firmware on the router, problem solved. My router is a Linksys WRT54G.
  5. SoftwareForMe.com
    Offline

    SoftwareForMe.com Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have had issues with the Droid since we got our first ones (Nov 6), on several networks with different hardware.

    I have the impression the antenna isn't well placed, or the wireless radio was down-costed a little too much. The Droid cannot get a reliable signal in places the HTC devices can.

    Consequently, I've never re-booted a router to solve this, but only turned the Droid's WIFI off and back on.

    SoftwareForMe.com
    Makers of PhoneMyPC
    & Imagine Multi-touch
  6. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    It is a US Robotics MAXg (USR5461). The current firmware version is 3.93.35.0.9 (Jun 5 2008), and US R is not showing an updated version. My Security is WPA2 and WPA (PSK). I am running Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit), but that shouldn't affect the routers performance.
  7. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks for the input, but I am sitting less than 3 feet from the router, and the connectivity issue is with both the HTC and the Moto. I recognize the reception is weak, but finding the network hasnt been a problem, just acquiring an IP..
  8. jersezhustla
    Offline

    jersezhustla New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this problem when I first got my phone. I never had a problem connecting using any of my other phones. I just upgraded my firmware on my router and I was able to connect through my phone.
  9. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well, i dont have an updated firmware, so I guess Im going to have to wait until next time it acts up, and see if anyone can help me then.
  10. Olivia
    Offline

    Olivia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    With my previous phone I had problems with it dropping my connection or sometimes not connecting at all. I found that changing the channel on my wireless router did the trick. I have a D-Link wireless router.

    No problems so far with the connectivity on the Droid.
Search tags for this page

connect droid razr to overseas network

,

motorola xoom wifi issue with centurylink

,

samsung s4 problems with centurylink