1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Unable to obtain IP address from Netgear router

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Kutmulc, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. Kutmulc
    Offline

    Kutmulc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, I'm trying to get my Droid 2 to connect to my home network (using a Netgear router) however, whenever I try to connect it will get stuck at "Obtaining IP address", and then it fails.

    A few things to note:
    I'm using 128 bit WEP authentication. I'm positive my password is correct. However, I also tried it with the security disabled. Even as an open connection, it CANNOT obtain an IP.

    No Mac filtering.

    I CAN connect to other networks (neighbors w/o passwords)

    The router's signal is on an unused channel (11), I checked for conflicting signals.

    I connect to this router regularly on my laptop/desktop.

    There are very few other devices using the connection (in other words there are available IP addresses)

    I've rebooted the router and Droid quite a few times.

    Might there be something I'm doing wrong? Thanks for the help!
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Delete all your stored APs if you have any. Many Droids don't like dealing with passwords -- or it's just the WEP encryption. I forget which.
  3. SiGfever
    Offline

    SiGfever New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to set my phone "Static" at my house for decent IP locking. Seems my wife's Itouch competes for the same IP address. I even tried reserving the Dynamic in the scope but it was still flaky. Damn Apples!
  4. Kutmulc
    Offline

    Kutmulc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Droid is brand new, so I don't have any APs on it yet.

    How to I set it to a Static IP address? I don't see any options for that under my WiFi connections.
  5. TemplesOfSyrinx
    Offline

    TemplesOfSyrinx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I had the same problem until I changed my encryption to WPA instead of WEP. No problems now.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. badford350
    Offline

    badford350 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This worked like a champ for me
  7. giant25
    Offline

    giant25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I've read somewhere about 128 bit WEP problems with the Droid. Try WPA or temporarily turning off security to see if you can connect at all. Then Google your problem because I think I read about this on another forum.
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    THAT'S IT! I couldn't remember which one worked and which one didn't.
  9. Kutmulc
    Offline

    Kutmulc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies guy! But as I said in my original post, even with the security disabled, I can't get it to connect (hangs at 'obtaining IP').

    Any other suggestions?
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Are you stock or rooted? If rooted, are you stock or ROM'd?
  11. Kutmulc
    Offline

    Kutmulc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not rooted, no.
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    What model is your router?
  13. Kutmulc
    Offline

    Kutmulc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got it working, I'll post it here in case it helps someone else.

    First, I updated to the latest version of the router's firmware.

    Secondly, I removed the reserved IP addresses on the network.

    (addresses ended in .2 and .3)

    Thanks for the help guys!
Search tags for this page
android and netgear wife
,
android can't obtain ip address
,
can't connect to netgear router settings from droid
,
cannot obtain ip address from netgear router
,
connect samsung s3 to netgear router
,
failed to obtain ip samsung galaxy s4
,
how to obtain ip address from router
,
netgear android obtaining ip address
,

netgear obtaining ip address

,
netgear router ip address problem android
,
netgear router obtaining ip address
,
netgear router stuck on obtaining ip address
,
router obtaining ip address
,
s3 galaxy failed to obtain ip address
,
trouble obtaining ip address from router