Wi-Fi error after update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by red21, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. red21
    Offline

    red21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, my Droid Bionic performed some sort of upgrade this morning and now the WiFi won't turn and and just gives me an "error"? I do not want to reset since I have read so many that did that with no luck anyway. This stupid update most likely is the cause!!! Any suggestions or ideas? Thanks!
  2. simons29
    Offline

    simons29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having similar issue. Problem is resolved when wifi is off, however this means I'm having to use mobile data at home vs wifi. I dont want to be using mobile data at home.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. Mer2112
    Offline

    Mer2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Application update or system update?

  4. Batman8
    Offline

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    I've noticed similar issues since my .901 upgrade, and all I can do when it happens is reboot and then wifi works again.
  5. treefrog20012003
    Offline

    treefrog20012003 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shreve, Ohio
    Factory data reset. Solved my problem with that.

    "But WHY THE RUM?!!"
  6. red21
    Offline

    red21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe it was a system update. I am new to these phones, but it looked like a system update with a black screen and rebooted after it was finished. I tried
    clearing the cache and booting into SAFE mode, but it still did not work. The local Verizon store says that a hard reset is my only choice. But, since I have only
    had the phone for two weeks and JUST got everything setup the way I want, I really don't want to do that! Who's to say it really will fix the issue?
  7. treefrog20012003
    Offline

    treefrog20012003 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shreve, Ohio
    Yea, you never know for sure if the factory reset will work until you do it. It usually does fix system update issues. A system update can fix signal issues but it may require a reset since the update may not be compatible with the past drivers that are still present. Write everything down, setup and applications and do the reset. If it does not fox the problem then you are one step ahead of what Verizon will do anyway.

    "But WHY THE RUM?!!"
  8. Tonik
    Offline

    Tonik Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You are not going to get anywhere until you do a reset. They are not going to replace the phone until you do, and even if they do you still have to set it up again. Plus the reality is that a hard reset is probably going to fix the problem.

    The sooner you start the sooner it will be over. :biggrin:
Search tags for this page
droid 3 error wi
,

droid 3 wifi error

,
droid did upgrade and now no wifi
,

htc thunderbolt wifi error

,
htc thunderbolt wifi error fix
,

motorola bionic wifi error

,
motorola droid 2 wifi error not working
,
motorola mb612 wifi error
,
motorola wifi error
,
wifi error droid bionic after update
,
wifi fixer for motorola droid 3
,
wifi thunderbolt error