Waitin on my Droid

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by biutu, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. biutu

    biutu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought a Droid off eBay. Says it was unlocked, then he e-mails me n says he doesnt know. Oh well, AT&T is making me mad anyway. I am in the army and currently in kuwait on deployment. Would I be able to use the WiFi capabilities without a working SIM card in the droid? Once I get back to the states, hopefully there will be a unlock out. I am still currently an iPhone 3GS owner, jailbroken, unlocked. I like it, but the droid seems like a much better phone. (my iphone keeps crashing n I hafto reset a bunch) I've always been one to mess with my electronics, customfirmware PSP's, jailbreaking, unlocking, everything I can get my hands on. I'm very excited to get my new droid n make everything work with it. I'll probably switch to Verizon as soon as I get back home...maybe...i got a nice deal with AT&T. hopefully an unlock will be out by then.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    First, thank you for your service to our Country.:yr1: Purchasing a Droid on ebay can be tricky, I hope that works for you. I hope you understand that Droid only works on CDMA and unless Kuwait has that type of network it won't work for you as far as receiving and making calls. Let us know how it works out. :welcome:
     
  3. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Droid doesn't have a SIM card.... so there's no unlock necessary. It only works on Verizon.
     
  4. biutu

    biutu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    quickly figured that out. gonna be using it for WiFi until i get back to the states then switch to Verizon. I added up my bill n it would be $104 a month tho. compared to my $60 already w/ AT&T. for the same features.
     
  5. unix.punkx

    unix.punkx Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    :welcome: to Droid Forums!

    Droid is a CDMA based phone. I'd have a nice discussion with that guy :D
     
  6. biutu

    biutu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    he's no longer e-mailing me back. oh well, just as long as I get the phone. ill use it for WiFi while im in kuwait, then go with verizon when i get back. im sure they have a military discount. if not, ill tell em AT&T does (which they do) and ill get one from them. telling them about competitors discounts they dont have always seems to work.
     
  7. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    yup, that will most likely work. thanks again for your service.
     
  8. peter.fox

    peter.fox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it is nice to own a droid, but it is nicer to know there is a forum for only droids, nice to be here