[Video HowTo]The Milestone has been Rooted!

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by Berzerker, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Disclaimer: I don't own a milestone, so I can't test this, but others are reporting it works.

    Google Translate


    ****UPDATE BY RINTINTIGGER****


    Video HowTo
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2010
  2. bmic

    bmic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It WORKS \o/ i got root on a brazilian milestone :)
     
  3. DAGr8

    DAGr8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal
    Ratings:
    +0
    works perfect here too, I believe mine is German , just oc'd my phone now on to the next nice thing I can do with it .

    here is a walkthru ( in english)

    _Rename file to Update.zip
    _Put it on root of your sd
    _Power off phone
    _hold camera key and power buton at the same time until you see the motorola logo
    _once you get the triangle with the ! in the middle hold camera button and hit volume up key (a few times) at the same time until menu shows up
    _choose apply update.zip .
    _Reboot phone
    _go in application and make sure yo have the 'superuser whitelist in there .

    Voila you are done .

    It is said that you might get an error while flashing ( I did NOT )
    If you do just flash again .
     
  4. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    $10 says Rin is all about some rootin' now. :biggrin:
     
  5. vdbui

    vdbui New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thís will be really interesting !
     
  6. rsilves

    rsilves New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Success :D
    Brazilian Milestone too, in Argentina.

    Thanks,
    Rodrigo.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  7. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Lost that 10 Bucks ;)

    I dont need root. my Milestone does what it is supposed to!
     
  8. lesjaw

    lesjaw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    want to confirm..Milestone from UK is ROOTED!..yihaaa..
    Update.zip process didnot reset our Miley..after i flash the update.zip, my miley condition is just like before..but now i have root...
     
  9. xderia

    xderia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to Root my Milestone, do I root with the same files as the Droid users use? If not, what files do I use?
     
  10. big_adventure

    big_adventure Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did it, just to play. The root doesn't change anything on your phone except adding su and superuser APKs, and the superuser whitelist application in the apps drawer.

    Just take the file in the post, name it update.zip, and throw it on the SD card in the root directory.

    Turn off your 'stone.

    Hold down both the camera button and the power button THROUGH the Motorola "M" icon, until you see the exclamation point / triangle icon. Let both keys go. I tried the Droid method : power button and X button, and it didn't work for me.

    Now, this was finicky on my phone: Hold down the "volume up" button, then press and hold the camera button (while still holding the vol up). If it works, within a few seconds you should get a text screen telling you to use the d-pad for navigation, and offering you a couple of choices. Select "install update.zip from SD card", and press the d-pad center button. Wait until it tells you that it is finished.

    Reboot the phone.

    Check the apps drawer for the superuser whitelist application. If you have that, the root worked.

    You will still be on 2.0 after the root.
     
  11. xderia

    xderia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got

    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command
    .
    .
    cannot find update_binary
    Rooting your phone
    Installed from sdcard complete.

    Anyone else get this? Should I root again?
     
  12. big_adventure

    big_adventure Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, that's what it looks like when it WORKS.
     
  13. Guja

    Guja New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about the update is there any chance I can download it and install it? I have the UK version, but am not from UK. When I try to check for updates it says Can't connect to servers.
     
  14. xderia

    xderia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great! Will the Market Enabler now work? Any special version of the Market Enabler I should use?
     
  15. influencd

    influencd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Heya, been watching all the rooting news roll out. I'm quite aware of the power of root, but have never done it on an android device. I was just wondering the impact. I have a UK Milestone bought from expansys with stock access to the protected market.

    1. Will I still be able to run the 2.0.1 OTA update, or will it need custom 'update.zip's from here on in?
    2. Will I still have access to the market in the same way?
    3. Will 'any' application be able to fire up 'su' to gain privileged access? - is this controlled? Is there a root password per se, when running 'su' as in linux?

    Ta.
    inf
     
Search tags for this page

the whitelist is currently empty