Video Conversion using Handbrake.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Droid69, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. Droid69
    Offline

    Droid69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Has anyone been successful in using handbrake and getting a movie to playback on your Bionic? I have tried many different settings but the stock video player will not play the MP4 file. I am trying to stay away from an alternate video player.

    Thx
  2. jstwondrng
    Offline

    jstwondrng New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Havertown, PA
    Hey Droid69,

    I know Handbrake is free (used to use it for ripping DVDs on my Mac for my iPod Touch), but you may want to try DVD Catalyst. It's not free, but only about 10 dollars. Their customer support is great and the latest build of the software has settings for the Droid Bionic, including a HD version!

    Jstwondrng
  3. Dougw133
    Offline

    Dougw133 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What format are you ripping? Disc's? Mkv? I ripped an mks to embedded 960x540 res for zumocast with dvdfab. There a better one I use that has faster encoding with cuda and amd support. DVD Fab claims both but frequently crashed with cuda enabled. Let me find the other program.

    EDIT: its xilisoft mkv converter. Worked great. Handbrake is tough. Zumocast can actually do mkv but not with dts audio I have found. So my ripped blue rays with dts need to be converted

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. jstwondrng
    Offline

    jstwondrng New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Havertown, PA
    Hey Doug,

    I was ripping DVDs, however, I dl'ed a new DVD ripping application from the folks who make DVD Catalyst. It's in beta and will time out in 30 days, but it will rip an entire blu-ray disc and save the file in an Mkv format (could be Mks). Once you get this file, DVD Catalyst will convert it to a HD video for the Bionic. It appears from the webpage instructions, it will automatically do so. You may need one more component for it to work, but I'm testing it this weekend.

    Jstwondrng
  5. Droid69
    Offline

    Droid69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Tried Catalyst but the video and audio don't sync using that software...at least on my PC.
  6. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. voodoodaddy
    Offline

    voodoodaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    I converted some avi files using the iphone 4 setting, worked 4 me. Will try that custom droid setting sometime though.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. Droid69
    Offline

    Droid69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Thanks worked perfectly!
  9. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem, glad it worked!
  10. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    There is also Free Studio from DVDVideoSoft.com. It's a suite of conversion programs. Handbrake is part of the suite, although it doesn't use that name.
  11. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Install the latest handbrake, run it and goto the presets menu at the top and click import, browse for the attached file. It will then appear in the list of presets on the right side.
  12. Jack Flash
    Offline

    Jack Flash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    K3b on arch linux and have ripped many to my bionic.
    Mobo player from market is my fav.

    LiNuX ftw!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  13. z96Cobra
    Offline

    z96Cobra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I tried to import that profile a month or so ago and it wouldn't import, kept giving me an error. I've been using the iPhone 4 profile and it works fine on my Bionic. I do raise the video quality up a little (video tab) but it looks fine at the preset levels.
  14. Droid3720
    Offline

    Droid3720 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Big Huge THANK YOU to PhontomF for the Bionic HB preset. Every movie I've converted and watched on my bionic looks frakking great.
  15. geekabilly
    Offline

    geekabilly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    It certainly does -- Bravo PhontomF ! !
  16. Droid3720
    Offline

    Droid3720 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Moboplayer works great.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  17. Artreas
    Offline

    Artreas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saratoga, NY
    I receive the following error when trying to import. "the preset file you selected appears to be invalid or from an older version of Handbreak. does anyone have a newer preset?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  18. DunDun
    Offline

    DunDun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you updated your version of handbrake? Goto the handbrake website and see if your version is up to date.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  19. makoti
    Offline

    makoti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1. Have used it to convert vids for the Bionic and a NookColor & NC Tablet. Worked really well, and support is outstanding. E-mails usually answered within 24 hours. Worth $10, easy.
  20. Artreas
    Offline

    Artreas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saratoga, NY
    I was using the current free version off their site and the config import settings would not work.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 handbrake settings
,

handbrake droid razr

,

handbrake droid razr settings

,
handbrake for galaxy s3
,
handbrake galaxy s3 settings
,
handbrake galaxy s4 settings
,
handbrake plist files; s4
,

handbrake settings for droid razr

,

handbrake settings for galaxy s3

,
handbrake settings for galaxy s4
,
handbrake settings for nexus 10
,
handbrake settings for samsung galaxy s3
,
handbrake settings for samsung galaxy s4
,
handbrake settings samsung galaxy s3
,
handbrake video conversion settings for samsung s3