USB to PC connection not working

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Tony07737, May 8, 2010.

  1. Tony07737

    Tony07737 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Middletown, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am unable to connect my Droid to my PC. I get an unknown device in the computer management window. I tried to delete it to force a new driver install with no luck.
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    you have to mount it first - did you do this?

    to do this, once its plugged in via USB to the pc, go on the droid, drag down the top bar and click on USB connected.

    click mount and now the computer should recognize it as just the memory card.
     
  3. Tony07737

    Tony07737 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Middletown, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Usb to pc connect

    I should get a mount option on the windoshade pull down. I don't get that.
    I get a USB icon in the toolbar.
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    what does the icon say when you pull down?

    theres not a mount option in the toolbar - you have to select usb connected to get the option to mount or not
     
  5. datawrangler81

    datawrangler81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, thanks for the help in advance-

    I go to "usb connected" and get the mount/don't mount option, and click mount, but it doesn't show up on my computer- hp laptop running XP,

    I am also using pdanet to connect to the net via the same laptop, could that have anything to do with it? usb debugging has to be checked to get pdanet to work.

    Dave
     
  6. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Here is what I get with PDANET loaded also.

    I plug in the USB cable and it notifies!
    The pitchfork icon shows on the tool bar!
    I swipe down on the tool bar and I see two items:
    USB Debugging connected
    USB connected

    I selection USB connected and it asks if want to:
    Mount or Don't Mount
     
  7. datawrangler81

    datawrangler81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats exactly what i get, and the computer never shows anything else. I've tried restarting the laptop, too. no change.
     
  8. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine is doing the same exact thing today wtf???
     
  9. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is really really weird that all these phones just start doing this?
     
  10. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Are you going to "my computer" (XP) on your computer and looking for the device in the list of devices? Mine shows up on the list of drives and devices with removable storage as "removable disk [E:]"

    When I click on that then I see the folders etc on the phone.
     
  11. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya im on win 7 ya mine just shows up in the list but it used to pop up a window and there would be my sd card now when i mount i have to go look for the drive and open up the j: drive and then i have my sd
     
  12. datawrangler81

    datawrangler81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It doesn't show up in "my computer'
    In device manager it show up as "android phone" with "android ADB Interface" under that

    I just want to move some photos into my phone! How hard can that be?
     
  13. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    In "my computer" under view, try refresh!
     
  14. datawrangler81

    datawrangler81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    new info:

    when I touch the "gallery" widget it says "sd card unmounted or not present"
    when I go to sd card and phone storage settings, it says "unavailable" for total space and available space on sd card,

    but it was mounted a moment ago.
     
  15. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine does that sometimes what fixes mine is taking my battery out taking my sd card out resliding it back in and rebooting


     
Search tags for this page
droid maxx usb connection not working
,
droid ultra usb connect not working
,
droid usb driver not working
,
google usb driver not working moto x
,

mota usb not working

,
moto x laptop usb not working
,
no usb connection on my droid 2
,
usb computer connection turn on on moto x
,

usb connect does not show

,
usb roo not visible