Root 2.2.3 without PC?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kill00, Mar 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kill00

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well... I have a Droid 2.2.3. Whenever I connect it yo my windows 7, it shows up as "device has malfunctioned, device.. unknown" everytime. I have tried reinstalling drivers, etc but the Computer never recognizes it as a Motorola device.

    Also, my phone doesnt charge when the phone is on and connected to the pc, but when the phone is connected to the PC and I turn the phone off, it charges (but then it wont turn on unless I disconnect it).

    Also, whenever it is connected, it never shows the USB icon/ or anything in the notification bar.

    So, I havent been able to root it yet. I have tried on 3 other computers (XP, 7, 7) and 3 other USB cables. Same results.


    I want to root my Droid 2.2.3, I have tried z4root app, but it doesnt suppotr 2.2+

    How can I root my Droid without a PC, can I use terminal, etc and do it on the phone itself?
     
  2. kill00

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well... I have a Droid 2.2.3. Whenever I connect it to my windows 7, it shows up as "device has malfunctioned, device.. unknown" everytime. I have tried reinstalling drivers, etc but the Computer never recognizes it as a Motorola device.

    Also, my phone doesn't charge when the phone is on and connected to the pc, but when the phone is connected to the PC and I turn the phone off, it charges (but then it wont turn on unless I disconnect it).

    Also, whenever it is connected, it never shows the USB icon/ or anything in the notification bar. So, I havent been able to root it yet. I have tried on 3 other computers (XP, 7, 7) and 3 other USB cables. Same results.



    I want to root my Droid 2.2.3, I have tried z4root app, but it doesn't support 2.2+



    How can I root my Droid without a PC, can I use terminal, etc and do it on the phone itself?
     
  3. kill00

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Closed.

    Please do not post multiple threads for the same issue. Your other thread HERE will remain open.
     
  5. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    The method you have linked there is for a Droid 2. I am assuming since you are running 2.2.3 that you have a Droid 1, is that correct?
     
  6. kill00

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. That is correct. Droid 1 w/ 2.2.3
     
  7. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Then in that case I am pretty sure you need a PC to do it at this point. From what I understand all the "one-clicks" or apps have not been updated since the latest update. If you would like I can get you a link of a method that will work, it just requires a PC.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. kill00

    kill00 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah. I understand. It's ok. I found the SOC method. Thanks anyways
     
  9. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Let me know how it goes. I was lead to believe (read it somewhere, not here) SOC does not work on 2.2.3 but if it does that would be good to know.
     
  10. fenriswolf039

    fenriswolf039 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need help here too... never rooted my D1, been shopping for new phones but unhappy with the selection available.

    I really just want to overclock this thing so I don't have to wait so long for everything to happen.

    Help!
     
  11. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Are you also running 2.2.3? As I said earlier I believe you will need a PC to do it since the apps that rooted the Droid 1 have not been updated in quite some time. If you need a link to the PC method I will try and grab the link for you.
     
  12. fenriswolf039

    fenriswolf039 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I got it rooted, tried installing the latest "stable" Cyanogen mod, 7.1.0 and it just gets stuck in a boot loop.

    I really just want to overclock. What's the simplest way to accomplish this? I don't care about themes and other stuff... the phone is just too slow.
     
  13. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    What steps did you follow to install the ROM? And are you sure it was for the correct device?
     
  14. fenriswolf039

    fenriswolf039 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the Rom Manager Premium, selected Download mod, selected CyanogenMod, then it gave me a list. First I chose 7.1.0 because the dev's website said it was stable for the original Droid. That boot looped me. Then I went to my backup, and repeated the process. This time I selected 7.0.3, also listed as a "stable release" .

    Boot loop again.

    Do I even need Cyanogen to overclock? What I've read so far has left me a little unclear.
     
  15. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Overclocking is done with a kernel. Apply the kernel you want, then use a program such as SetCPU to adjust the frequency and such.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

how to root droid x2 without computer

,
how to root motorola droid 3 without computer
,
how to root your droid x2 with out a computer
,
root droid 3 without computer
,

root droid razr without computer

,

root droid x2 no computer

,

root droid x2 without computer

,
root my phone without computer
,

root my phone without pc

,

root phone without pc