Updating?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by elysianfield, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. elysianfield

    elysianfield New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my Droid 2 a while ago and recently rooted it. My question now is can I still update the phone using settings/about phone/system updates? Or would doing so brick my phone? Thanks in advance for the help
     
  2. Arachnidus

    Arachnidus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You cannot receive OTA updates once rooted.
     
  3. darkonion

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't believe that is entirely correct. Some say you can update, but you will loose root.
     
  4. Arachnidus

    Arachnidus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm. Well, on my Droid 1, I wasn't able to download OTA, I thought it might be some universal rule of android.
     
  5. TG617

    TG617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    An OTA update was just pushed to my droid I accepted it and tried to install just to see what would happen. I am rooted. It rebooted and came back that it failed. Phone is still working fine. So i'm going to say no you can't update and it probably won't brick your phone.
     
  6. d2wheelz

    d2wheelz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine too, what is the update supose to fix?
     
  7. darkonion

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you remove any apps?
     
  8. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
  9. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    this is where I messed up:


    5. Next, extract the patch (pst_flash.ini) to the Motorola/RSD Lite folder. It'll ask you if you want to overwrite the file. Choose yes.

    (My file path to place the file was: My Computer -> C Drive -> Program Files -> Motorola -> RSD Lite)
     
  10. ohfire

    ohfire Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what all it fixed, but one thing was the bug that kept contacts from a complete sync with exchange server. As soon as I updated, boom they were all there, prior to the update, I only had about 60 percent of them.
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Two things block OTA update - removing/renaming otacerts file on your Droid (true on D1, haven't looked for this on D2) and having a custom recovery.

    On the D1, tf you have a custom recovery (CWR) installed when the ota update tries to boot to recovery to install it will fail. I don't know of any reason why that wouldn't behave the same on the D2, if you have ClockworkRecovery installed.
     
  12. TG617

    TG617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there anyway to turn off the OTA updates?
     
  13. karnovaran

    karnovaran Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, developers have figured that out on other phones. I'm not sure what we need to edit to make that happen on the D2, but it's definitely possible.
     
  14. TG617

    TG617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I've tried to find it but haven't been successful. My phone keeps trying to update and in the process reboots. It's annoying. I rather just turn them off. I haven't been able to rename otacerts.zip. Or find it for that matter...
     
  15. d2wheelz

    d2wheelz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ended up unrooting, doing a factory reset, then the update, system version now is: Verizon 2.2.20. I have only had it less then a week but Im seriously missing my BB