unrooting droid 2. need to trade it into verizon

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by hockeyhead019, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. hockeyhead019

    hockeyhead019 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Right outside Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everybody,

    I'm having issues with my power button unlocking, locking and turning on and off the phone. So I want to take it to verizon today or tomorrow to see if they'll let me get a refurb or somethin cuz this is extremely annoying lol.

    So basically how to I get my rooted D2 back to "out of the box" status so they'll never know I messed with anything.

    The problem is in-fact a hardware problem NOT a software problem. I did a factory reset and everything to no avail.

    Any help would be great
     
  2. Bart.Cunningham

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have the same issue with mine sometimes...and sometimes it just wakes up after a long pause. I have a D2 with lots of apps which i figured was the issue but I haven't tried a factory reset or anything. Sometimes I get frustrated with trying to wake it up and pull the battery and reboot! I never rooted mine so cant help you there but if they replace yours for this reason I might try to get mine replaced.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. Haloid95

    Haloid95 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    #3 Haloid95, Jan 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  4. hockeyhead019

    hockeyhead019 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Right outside Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea my power button doesn't work... at all lol... can't lock it unlock it and when I yank the battery I have to go through this stupid sequence to start the phone up again since holding the power button doesn't do it
     
  5. blaconic

    blaconic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of people actually have the same problem, I was just reading one of the threads about it. Apparently they are warranting replacements for this problem. I'm rooted too and was just going to sbf back to stock once I get annoyed enough.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. blaconic

    blaconic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is the quote from another thread.

     
  7. hockeyhead019

    hockeyhead019 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Right outside Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome that's exactly what I was looking for. I knew it was somewhere but couldn't remember where lol.

    Thanks a bunch. Hopefully they'll gimme a refurb or something lol