1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Unfreeze for Updates?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by dsmusicbox, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. dsmusicbox
    Offline

    dsmusicbox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I need to unfreeze any frozen apps to install a system update? I am rooted soley to freeze unwanted apps - no custom ROMS, etc.

    Thanks! :)

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Nope. You don't have to unfreeze them

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
  3. dsmusicbox
    Offline

    dsmusicbox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded the system update, and Titanium Backup now tells me that there is an error, and that it cannot acquire root privileges - to make sure I am rooted and that I have Busy Box??? I am presently looking for information on the forums and google, but figured I would at least post here.

    I had done the one-click root back in February, and have only frozen apps. I have not messed with the system, or with custom ROMS. I did unfreeze any frozen apps prior to downloading the system update (unfroze them before I saw the message above).

    Thanks for any info that can be provided!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  4. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Updates to the system OS remove ROOT so you need to re-root once you take the update.

    The Droid 3 can no longer be rooted with the original method and you will need to use the Droid4/Bionic/Razr root method "motofail".

    It's just as easy and is by the same person who originally found the first root method for the Droid 3.
  5. dsmusicbox
    Offline

    dsmusicbox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got this message and had found the same information :) I am re-rooted and a happy camper again!

    Thank you!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
do i need to unfreeze apps before installing a new rom
,
do i need to unfreeze apps to update root droid 4
,
how do i unfreeze apps
,

how to unfreeze a droid 3

,
how to unfreeze a droid incredible m
,
how to unfreeze a droid razr in facebook
,

how to unfreeze a motorola droid razr

,
how to unfreeze apps on android
,
how to unfreeze downloading apps
,

how to unfreeze droid 3

,
how to unfreeze droid 3 from jailbreak
,

how to unfreeze droid dna

,

how to unfreeze droid incredible

,

how to unfreeze motorola droid

,

how to unfreeze the motorola