Traded my SF fro a DX Today

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by celtlion, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. celtlion

    celtlion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really sucked because I loved almost everything about the Fascinate!

    But as a camper/hiker and motorcyclist I need a reliable GPS.

    After spending hours reading posts and trying almost setting known to man it's obvious that the problem is not solvable without a major change from Samsung .

    Sadly, after reading their own issue forums, they have as of yet to even explain what the problem is or when it will be solved - or even officially acknowledge it exists.

    I explained to the Verizon rep the issue with the GPS and they simply said a fix would come out and they wouldn't waive the fee regardless of the defect.

    They also said I'm limited to one swap and this was it according to their policy - will be full price if I decide to go back the Fascinate assuming they fix their problem.

    My 30 days were getting close....

    So I paid the $35 dollar fee to switch to a phone I didn't really want but had no choice, I'm stuck with it now regardless because of a defect.

    I'll never buy another Samsung phone..got a real bad taste in my mouth now..
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2010
  2. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That really sucks. My friend, who owns a vibrant, just got the OTA update for GPS fix the other day and now his GPS locks on in literally 1 second. Our GPS fix is coming. Vibrant and captivate already got theirs.
     
  3. celtlion

    celtlion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, I read about the update on the forums, some say it's all ok and others not.

    I'll wait to hear about their results after a week or so given the randomness of this "GPS "bug"

    I've already heard GPS problem NOT solved on the forums.

    I've done factory resets, re-programed it to do GPS cold starts using the hidden menu feature. tried numerous patterns of VZ On/OFF, Google ON/Off Standalone ON/OFF....etc.

    Sometimes it would work and then the same setting put me 1/2 a mile away the next day. It's totlly screwed and I can't believe SAMSUNG has nothing to say about this major issue.

    Cost me money and locked me in on another product today..how many others?

    I loved the Fascinate - the GPS fiasco screwed it up for me personally.

    For those that don't need GPS, it''s perfect.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2010
  4. SlvrEvoIX

    SlvrEvoIX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just traded my Dx for a SF today Haha . The x's wifi was a total mess. My fascinates GPS is perfect for now LOL
     
  5. celtlion

    celtlion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    We must be living in parallel universes...haha.

    I will say the reception seems a little better in my house with the X, even if it does feel like I'm toting around a Russian cold war era phone after pocketing the SF for a while..

    :lifting:

     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2010
  6. Mrdanks

    Mrdanks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the fascinate and I have zero problem's. I had the x and it was nice but just had to be rooted to like it. Which I was. The samsung is perfect stock!

    Sent via Fascinate.
     
  7. dhaoracle

    dhaoracle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well i am sorry for you because I was going to bring my phone back too until I found this program that makes my GPS works like whoa... It is sooo accurate now that I have this program GPS Status, I get lke 7/8 Satellite fixes on an average... I love this phone even more and now I can wait for the Froyo 2.2 update when it comes out to fix this problem because it is only a software problem because al the program did was either reset the GPS sensor or downloaded new information. I think that it is the Downloading part that is not working...
     
  8. Mrdanks

    Mrdanks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    What program maybe you could help somebody else with the same problem?

    Sent via Fascinate.
     
  9. dhaoracle

    dhaoracle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The program is called "GPS Status" but I am about to get another one because it takes like 1 minute to connect but when it does it is locked on like a backpack...