1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Titanium Backup Sync to Dropbox

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by MattyP, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    3 months after getting my new Droid 2, rooting it, getting the 2.3.20 OTA update, re-rooting, and countless hours of setting it up and customizing it and tinkering with it, I decided to do what I had not done before, use Titanium Backup to sync it to Dropbox. I set up a Dropbox.com account, logged in, and started the sync.

    455 MB, 2368 files, and it took 11 FREAKING HOURS to upload it all the Dropbox.

    3G connection went in and out throughout the process, kept having to restart the sync, thank goodness it picked up where it left off when I had to restart it, and didn't have to do the whole thing all over again.

    I hope I never have a major problem where I have to use it, but I also hope I never have to do it again.

    At least download speeds are faster than upload speeds LOL dancedroid
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    one word: Wifi

    lol woulda saved u a lot of time
  3. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    How so? Can ya explain that for me? Dad always told me I learned most of life's lessons the hard way LOL
  4. SPerry
    Offline

    SPerry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DropBox would use the higher speed WiFi connection to upload / download files. If you are moving large amounts of data it is always preferable to be connected to a wireless network.
  5. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ahhh, but I dont have WiFi in my apartment. I do have high speed cable, but I'm hardwired. I wish I could have done it from my laptop, it would have only taken minutes...
  6. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    well u coulda copied ur TBU folder from ur sdcard to ur computer to dropbox and done it that way
  7. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Well hells bells there's another lesson learned the hard way LOL :icon_eek:

    Thanks man!
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    That is how I did my initial set up.
Search tags for this page
error with data backup titanium backup
,
how do you sync titanium back up to drop box?
,
how to backup to dropbox with titanium backup
,
how to backup using titanium backup and dropbox
,
how to send titanium backup to dropbox
,
how to sync 2 dropbox accounts to 1 razr maxx
,
sincronize titanium backup with dropbox
,
tbp dropbox
,

titanium backup dropbox

,
titanium backup dropbox upload slow
,
titanium backup pro and dropbox
,

titanium backup pro dropbox

,
titanium backup sync to dropbox
,
titanium backup to dropbox
,
titaniumbackup dropbox sync