Thunderbolt root question

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by jmd, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. jmd

    jmd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to use the EVO 4g root on the thunderbolt?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. wctaylor79

    wctaylor79 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Island in Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since they are different phones I would say no.. Really the only thing in common is they are both 4.3 inch screened HTC phones with a kickstand. The internals are not the same. The TB has newer tech and system then the Evo..
     
  3. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a fairly easy root method in the TB section.
     
  4. onsht1kll

    onsht1kll Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Plymouth, Ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah i would guess a lot of the framework is different.. I wouldn't try it especially since u cant backup before hand
     
  5. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't try it! There are a couple good methods in here for the tb specifically. I wouldn't expect something as simple as unrevoked if that's what you're thinking. The tb is far more involved than the incredible or EVO. If you want root, try the 3 step method on Windows. That's probably as close as you'll get.



    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT using Tapatalk
     
  6. Its TwiX

    Its TwiX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good way to get bricked. I recommend adb root as you can tell what is wrong if it doesn't work. With all the easy roots its anybody's guess...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
    #6 Its TwiX, Apr 9, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2011
  7. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I didnt wanna open another topic for this question, im rooting right now and im stuck....Im using this method:
    [Exclusive] How To Root The HTC ThunderBolt And Unlock Its Bootloader | Android News, Reviews, Apps, Games, Phones, Tablets, Tips, Mods, Videos, Tutorials - Android Police

    I set up the adb, now i went back to step one where i need to get all the mirrors. However, when I downloaded them before I downloaded each one, one by one. So I had 8 in total, 3 from first two and 2 from last one.

    When I follow the steps and the video though...

    The guy has them organized in zip files...I didn't do that. I get three files for exploits zip file (a normal one, one with a 1 and one with a 2)...am i supposed to download only one of them? I dont understand why mine are downloading different than his
     
  8. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You only need 3 files that you don't unzip or alter in any way other than rename. The ones labeled mirror are in case the primary download file is too slow.
     
  9. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,625
    Likes Received:
    5,115
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,073
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    You only need to download one set out of each of those files(the mirrors are setup in case the others don't work).

    So you'd download from either MultiUpload, Galaxysense or Droidsite. Not all 3 of them.

     
  10. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    oh ok, so I should just download one file from each bulletpoint
     
  11. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I downloaded the 2 galaxy sense from the first two bullet points, and the multipload from the last one. Is that?
     
  12. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,625
    Likes Received:
    5,115
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,073
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Yep.

    Check the MD5's to make sure you have the files. After that you're all set.
     
Search tags for this page
cannot+stat+'psneuter':+no+such+file+or directory
,

exploits.zip

,
htc rom for adr6400l
,
psneuter no such file or directory
,
roms adr6400l
,
rooting verizon htc adr6400l
,
sip hacks and exploits
,
where do i download exploits.zip