Themes not working

Discussion in 'Sourcery ROM' started by Jayse, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. Jayse
    Offline

    Jayse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was on 1.3, and downloaded the Gingerbread theme, only to have it change some of the icons and nothing else. I looked on the sorcery website and downloaded the theme from there and installed it and got the same problem. I noticed the download for the Gingerbread theme was name Sorcery1.1.zip, so I downgraded to Sorcery 1.1, installed the theme, and got the same problem. I just cannot get this ROM to theme. Anybody else have this issue, maybe some insight on why I can't install a theme correctly?
  2. NicoleNXD
    Offline

    NicoleNXD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Livermore, CA
    A lot of the times when that happens it means that you don't have enough space in your system. If you have root explorer check in there to see how much space you have.

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
  3. listenman20
    Offline

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    switch to intensity then back to GB and see what ya get. if you still have some intensity icons left over then we have a problem, but if it looks like it did before then that was all that was themed about GB to begin with.
  4. listenman20
    Offline

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    I take that back. It seriously loomed as if the GB theme I looked at after reading this post had the wrong framework in it. Maybe gflam will be up in a bit to fix this.
  5. faracinman2
    Offline

    faracinman2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    I tried the Gingerbread theme as well and switched to mutiple themes and the others worked fine. Every time I try the Gingerbread theme it results in what looks to be the sourcery blue theme.
  6. listenman20
    Offline

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    It ain't exactly that either. Menu has white on white text.
  7. Jayse
    Offline

    Jayse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well this is on a fresh install of Sorcery so I don't think space is an issue. lol.
  8. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
  9. Jayse
    Offline

    Jayse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright. Root explorer says I have 23 megs of free system memory AFTER deleting some non-essential apps (ones I don't use). The Gingerbread theme is 15.2 megs. I tried installing it again, and came up with the same problem. Clockwork mod does not give any errors, in fact it says that in install was completed successfully.

    eagle1967 - I didn't mean to sound rude. I've never had a problem with themeing on other ROMS, I was not aware that memory would be an issue. I appreciate the post though.
  10. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Not at all sorry if i sounded rude , didnt mean too. yeah 23 megs is freat 5 would do you. It does appear that the gingerbread theme is screwey he probably forgot to update it since he had just updated the day before. Ill check it out and if gflam shows up well get it fixed :)

    Just checked out gingerbread and it definatley is screwed up. it has the 2.3 facings and the framework didnt change and the white on white is wierd because it shoule be a black menu. not sure but well get it fixed sorry :)
  11. JayR_
    Offline

    JayR_ Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0

    memory has become an issue lately due to the feature packed roms we have come to love, im not exactly sure what your problem is, but if you have 23mb free in your system/app, then it may be a different issue.

    however, they have a ton of work involved in upgrading the framework for a rom update, not to mention everything else that goes into the rom itself, the site, and posting all info in several places so its possible an error was made somewhere along the line.

    at any rate, hang in there, these guys provide unparalleled support for their work and im sure you will have it fixed when time allows.
  12. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Gingerbread Fixed

    Sorry guys as you can tell we have a lot to test with every release and i guess we missed that one . if you had installed another animation with that theme it would of fixed it :)
    Gflam did amazing work to get all these themes done but he had just fixed gingerbreads black text on black text the day before yesterday and think he grabbed the older framework on it.

    GINGERBREAD THEME IS NOW WORKING!.

    thanks for you patience.
  13. Koop
    Offline

    Koop New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The themes are not working for me either, though I have a separate issue. On a fresh install I can change themes once and its quick and easy as it should be. If I try to change it again, say to Luna or something, it just hangs. For 10+ min. Any ideas?
  14. Koop
    Offline

    Koop New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I went the round about way of DLing and installing via the zip directly. Still can't get it to work in the app.
  15. Kias
    Offline

    Kias New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Ohio
    I'm having the same problem as koop. The window pops up that says, be patient magic takes time. And it'll just sit there until I hit the home button. Had it sit there for two hours like that at work today.

    The boot animation works, just not the themes after the first theme change.

    Went back to 1.2 and it works ok there, but when I upgrade to 1.3 notta... ;)

    Sent from my Sourcery Droid using Tapatalk
  16. listenman20
    Offline

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    he had some of the themes down earlier to change out the ones with the percentages in the battery. reckon it's possible you caught it while they were down? that should've been quick tho..hard to time that just right.
  17. Kias
    Offline

    Kias New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Ohio
    Been playing with this problem since yesterday though...

    Sent from my Sourcery using Tapatalk
  18. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Install terminal

    For those having problems with the themes installing.
    go into sourcery magic>sourcery wizrdry>additional apps
    and install terminal than try again

    The scripts should install terminal automatically if you dont have it and its works for all of us but try it and see what happens.

    Again if you come to irc where we can interact we can fix 99% of issues it very hard to figure out what is wrong specific to you problem with very little info.

    it has worked for us and our 3 testers for 2 days before release so there is something with your guys systems that we need to figure out so we make sure it functions for those specific situations.

    the one i seee is it installed the first time but not since. if it worked once it should always work. but we can fix this if you can come to irc is is avavilble through our webpage.
  19. Kias
    Offline

    Kias New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Ohio
    I was planning on going to irc, just gotta get some time. ;)

    Sent from my Sourcery using Tapatalk