Tethering blocked?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by Dan.Droid, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. Dan.Droid
    Offline

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been toying with the idea of rooting, but the main reason I would do it right now is for free hotspotting. But I've been reading that Verizon has figured out how to block it. Is there any truth to this? I've done a search on the site, and nothing that seems related came up.
     
  2. lxJGTxl
    Offline

    lxJGTxl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. I tethered internet from my phone to my laptop all day yesterday through a blackout

    sent from my HTC INFECTED Synergy Bolt using DroidForums
     
  3. vudumonkey25
    Offline

    vudumonkey25 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you need to clarify for the OP, You tethered via usb? bluetooth? wifi teather? with or with out the radio hack?

    It is my understanding that the radio hack doesn't work for everyone anymore (correct me if i'm wrong) and even with root access apps like wifi tether are blocked and still sent you to the official verizon hotspot page.

    You do not need to be rooted to use an app like pdanet (usb from your phone to computer)
     
  4. Dan.Droid
    Offline

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This, specifically, is what I've heard and what I'm curious about. If it's true, then I'll have to decide whether freezing bloatware is worth rooting or not. This was the main reason for my wanting to root.
     
  5. vudumonkey25
    Offline

    vudumonkey25 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm rooted, and apps like wifi tether do not work. You need to do the radio hack for them to work. Rooting and freezing bloatware i felt made the phone a lot faster (and I didn't even freeze everything I could).

    But if you don't want to root I'd suggest pdanet, I use it and it gets the job done. I do miss the wifi tethering though.
     
  6. Dan.Droid
    Offline

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, thanks. I'll have to decide what route I want to take, which will best suit my needs.
     
  7. lxJGTxl
    Offline

    lxJGTxl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im tethering via WiFi Tether and its working fine for me.
     
  8. Jugglingwj
    Offline

    Jugglingwj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you do the radio hack? Is it easy to do? I rooted my phone with the 3 or 4 step easy method but if it's not too hard I definitely would like to do the radio hack to get tethering working.

    Are there custom ROMs that have tethering built in? My Incredible CM7 had tethering built in and that worked perfect.
     
  9. Bullitt6996
    Offline

    Bullitt6996 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lameville, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm stuck here too...I went to the wifi tether site and don't know which apk to get. The one I tried didn't work.
     
  10. rweb
    Offline

    rweb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm not on Verizon, so I neither have tethering issues nor I can test.
    Are there really people who use the app "Wireless Tether for Root Users" and are redirected to Verizon? If yes, did someone check if they did it the obvious way with iptables?
    Someone with these problems please post the output of:
    iptables -t nat --list -v
    (of course tethering has to be established then)
     
  11. Jugglingwj
    Offline

    Jugglingwj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the wireless tether app and I was redirected to a Verizon web page where I could sign up for the $20 a month hotspot.

    Sorry for the dumb question but what is "iptables" ? Whatever it is, I'll send it to you if it will help clear up the problem.
     
  12. rweb
    Offline

    rweb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    iptables is a Linux comand with which you can control firewall rules, in short.
    Please open a shell on your D3 (with adb or connectbot, for example), then type su to get root, then type the command line
    iptables -t nat --list -v
     
  13. Jugglingwj
    Offline

    Jugglingwj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's what it says...

    export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
    app_148@cdma_solana:/$ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
    app_148@cdma_solana:/$su
    root@cdma_solana:/# iptables -t nat --list -v
    Chain PREROUTING (policy ACCEPT 6 packets, 1970 bytes)
    pkts bytes target prot opt in out source destination

    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT 1174 packets, 99149 bytes)
    pkts bytes target prot opt in out source destination

    Chain POSTROUTING (policy ACCEPT 1174 packets, 99149 bytes)
    pkts bytes target prot opt in out source destination
    root@cdma_solana:/#
     
  14. rweb
    Offline

    rweb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    You really did it while tethering was etablished with your laptop?
     
  15. Jugglingwj
    Offline

    Jugglingwj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did what? Run those commands while tethering?
    No. I deleted all the tethering apps I was trying.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Misha
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    2,337
  2. tha rockstar
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,438
  3. xDMONEYx
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    2,112
  4. droidworld
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    834
  5. ggeinec
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...
Search tags for this page
bad argument `postrouting'
,
bypass cricket tethering
,
cricket blocks tethering
,
cricket tether block
,
cricket tether bypass
,
cricket tethering block
,
cricket tethering bypass
,

how to bypass cricket tether block

,
how to bypass cricket tethering
,
how to get around cricket tethering