Still on kin3tx 894, want to move to 902 and keep root...help

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by voodoodaddy, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. voodoodaddy

    voodoodaddy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    DFW
    Ratings:
    +4
    I installed the 902 from that link I posted and now under about phone it says Im on 5.8.894. Last 2 people in that thread said even though it says that I would still be on 902. Any insight on this if its true or not? I dont want to go to all the trouble of 902 just to find out its reverted to 894
     
  2. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    No, flashing a ROM can not revert you back to a previous upgrade. You are still on 902 and have the 902 radio.
    Kin3tx was built on the 894 build and has been patched to allow it to work with 902.
    Eclipse v2.2 was built off the 902 build tho.
     
  3. voodoodaddy

    voodoodaddy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    DFW
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for all the help, I really appreciate it. For those of us that dont mess with this stuff that often its a little overwhelming when you find 15 different ways to do something and alot of it is putting your trust in someone and hoping you dont run into any issues and brick your phone. So Im very thankful for people like you that are here to help and dont just say "search button"

    Installing all my backups from Ti now, hope the update fixes the connectivity issues I was having.
     
  4. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
  5. Hideakikarate

    Hideakikarate Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same situation as voodoo. Still on .894, so I tried to do the factory reset option, after creating the backup, of course, and after running rootkeeper. So I rebooted past the safestrap screen and the startup sequence began...and began again...and again...and again. So now I'm pulling another factory reset and installing the backup I had made. Any idea what went wrong? I rebooted the phone too after the wipe and still no luck. .894 has been dropping data much more frequently, so I would really appreciate any help. Also, just like voodoo, pretty rusty at the whole rooting scene, so...noob friendly, please.
     
  6. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    Your on stock 894 or running a custom ROM or 894?
     
  7. Hideakikarate

    Hideakikarate Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on kin3tx right now.
     
  8. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    Did you make a backup of stock in bootstrap? You can just restore your backup and take the OTA to 902. Use OTA rootkeeper to keep root when doing the OTA.
     
  9. Hideakikarate

    Hideakikarate Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Therein lies my problem. When I got my bionic I started with bootstrap and not safestrap and for some reason the earliest backup I have is from early this year, while I had it all rooted and modded before Christmas. So I guess I will try and go through my sd card and internal memory for the backup. I know I would have made one because I'm a bit paranoid when it comes to messing with expensive electronics. If by chance I can not find it then what would be my options?
     
  10. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    ok gotcha. So my bootstrap saves my backup on ext sd card. With a full battery, go into bootstrap recovery, go to restore option, and see what you have.
    If for whatever reason you can not get a backup to restore, then your next option is to use RSDlite and the 902 fxz.
     
  11. Hideakikarate

    Hideakikarate Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally got everything back up and running. Wasn't as nice as I had hoped. Used RSDlite to get it done. Problem using that method led me to accidentally delete my rootkeeper file and titanium backup file because my phone saved everything to the internal memory by default. Just aheads up to other people having trouble.
     
  12. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    I wish you would of hit me up before running RSDlite, since there is a file that Timmy10shoes edited to keep the sd card data. You would of never lost your Tibu files then. Next time I guess.
    Also, in Tibu, change the backup location to ext sd card.