Some "Themes" harder on Battery than others?

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by MuGGzy, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. MuGGzy
    Offline

    MuGGzy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I went to liberty I was psyched about the extended battery life I suddenly got. I decided to try a certain Black/Wht oriented theme that many seemed to really enjoy and also enjoyed it.
    I recently decided to try a different theme that revolved around allot of bright neon blue stuff and I have noticed that my battery life has started to suck down VERY fast.
    So, since I am not wanting to throw any of the awesome ROM/Theme coders under a bus so I am just wondering if anyone else has experienced this type of thing just from one theme to another without a change to the underlying ROM itself?

    I have noticed that with this theme there are several more processes running than I had before but maybe I just didn't pay attention before...

    Input welcomed and requested and thanks in advance!
  2. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4
    Normally it should have no impact unless the theme contains some sort of tweaking, which I have never seen one include. Unless the theme included a bogus app with a memory leak or something, it shouldn't change anything performance wise. Which two themes are you comparing, I don't think anyone is going to mind hearing the names.
  3. jack902902
    Offline

    jack902902 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wipe cache, fix permissions, zipalign, is a good start when ever u flash new roms.

    Now for the battery, the same reason I tell u to fix perm, wipe cache, zipalign, is that old settings and battery stats carry over, like residual effects of the ex gf or bf, lol.

    Search on these forums on how to wipe battery stats and calibrating.

    I use bootstrap>advanced>wipe battery stats

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. falseprofits
    Offline

    falseprofits Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you flash a theme you'll want to re-zipalign. That will probably make a huge difference.

    Open terminal emulator and type "zipalign_apks" with not quotes of course.

    You can also run "fixperms" from terminal emulator as well to fix permissions, though I can't see as why that would help battery life.

    Sent from Eugene. Yes, my phone has a name.
  5. MuGGzy
    Offline

    MuGGzy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Liberty 2.0.1 and I had put the Oreo Slice Theme on and it was sweet, I decided to try the "Epic Blue" theme.
    I cleared all the cache and such before installing it and just did it again from clockwork bootstrapper, I fixed permissions too. For some reason, under term emul it won't run zipalign_apks even though roottools specifically lists it as an option to run. I must be doing something wrong.
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  6. falseprofits
    Offline

    falseprofits Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    And all wiping battery stats does is help your phone read battery levels more accurtately so if your phone says its at 60%, it is actually at 60%.

    Sent from Eugene. Yes, my phone has a name.
  7. jack902902
    Offline

    jack902902 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    So you're telling me that we know for a fact that his battery is already reading correctly?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. jack902902
    Offline

    jack902902 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for elaborating on what I already mentioned

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. falseprofits
    Offline

    falseprofits Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    No need to get emotional fellahs.

    Sent from Eugene. Yes, my phone has a name.
  10. jack902902
    Offline

    jack902902 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have u tried doing this in liberty toolbox?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. MuGGzy
    Offline

    MuGGzy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh nope, I was using the stock liberty Terminal Emulator.. trying TB now :)

    How long does it take usually, I just have a "Processing" status box and have for over 10 mins...
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  12. jack902902
    Offline

    jack902902 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's taken quite a few minuets for me.
    I know it is a bug on GB Liberty that it will just run and never finish.
    But, on Froyo Liberty 2.0.1 it should work. I've done it before successfully.

    If TB doesn't work, try reinstalling Root Tools and try again on terminal emulator.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  13. Dullawolf
    Offline

    Dullawolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    can you wipe battery stats anytime, or should you do a data wipe along with it?
  14. jack902902
    Offline

    jack902902 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just battery stats.

    Ill tell u what I do, but feel free to do a search here and find a proper write up. I am still learning, myself.

    U charge your phone to 100% when the phone is on.
    Unplug and turn off.

    Charge again while off.
    Make sure it says 100%, then power on.
    Keep plugged in.

    Reboot in recovery and wipe batt stats.
    Unplug charger and reboot.

    First use let the phone die completely, then recharge to 100%.

    That should give you new stats.
    You're now free to use and charge however u want.


    That is what I do anyway, and it seems to work nice.
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  15. Dullawolf
    Offline

    Dullawolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you. my phone is charging right meow. I am definitly going to try that. My battery life is terrible right meow. hopefully that fixes it.