Silent mode after 2.2 update?

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by tc122701, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. tc122701

    tc122701 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    My daughter has the facinate, has gotten the froyo update, and can't get her phone on silent mode. Her phone only goes to vibrate now. Are we missing something or is there no silent mode? Her phone is stock.
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes silent mode was removed by default on Froyo. There may be an option buried in the sound settings but if not you can download any kind of volume manager from the market.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  3. nuch14150

    nuch14150 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    press the power button for 2-3 seconds...it pops up a menu to power down the phone...AND put it in silent mode.
     
  4. Mefloump

    Mefloump New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on 2.2 and under sound settings right at the top it says silent mode and is clickable.

    Sent from my SCH-I500
     
  5. nuch14150

    nuch14150 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    and that too...lol mine is just less steps I guess
     
  6. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    i believe the silent mode in the power down menu is atually just vibrate (at least it is on the vibrant) my gf was very upset after the froyo update because they removed the option for silent mode, as in no sound or vibrate.
     
  7. tc122701

    tc122701 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    you are correct on the facinate as well spaz, it takes it to vibrate only. Thanks for the help and fast response, she is upset to cause in school she liked it on silent.
     
  8. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same with my gf. She uses an app called quick settings that let's her toggle between sound, vibrate, and silent. It also let's her individually controll diferent sound elements like ringtone and system and what not.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  9. Mwsr

    Mwsr Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I wasn't to happy about losing that function either, I used it alot. Anyway someone pointed me in the direction of silent toggle widget. I have it and it works great.

    Midweststreetryders.com
     
  10. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    All you have to do is go to sounds, then vibrate, and select either 'never' or 'only when not in silent mode'

    You don't need any apps or widgets.

    Just long press the volume rocker down for one second and there's your silent mode.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums
     
    #10 AllForNaught, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
  11. prenedo

    prenedo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Wow. I was hoping somebody was gonna answer the OP question. Hopefully you haven't d/l'd like 5 apps to try and silence your phone. You now have to toggle silent and vibrate in sound settings, as opposed to using the rocker button to do so. Gives more flexibility as to when it vibrates. I find it to be a PITA also though, as I toggle btwn vibrate and silent alot.
     
  12. kjax016

    kjax016 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fascinate update and vibe mode

    @AllForNaught

    This doesn't give you an option for just VIBE, does it? I want to have the ability to have complete silent mode, vibe mode, and vibe + ring mode.

    I tried what you recommended and it just gave me the ability to have silent mode and vibe+ring mode.
     
Search tags for this page

gt s5303

,

how to get samsung s4 off silent

,

how to put s4 in silent mode

,

how to silence or vibrate mode in samsung s4

,

samsung fascinate silent mode instructions

,

vibrant vibrate in silent mode