Setting Up Gmail

mctopher

Reaction score
I'm new to Droid, having just moved over from Blackberry. I can't seem to get gmail to work on my phone. I was surprised how quick and easy it was to link my google account to the phone (I think I'll like not having to worry about the google sync from the old phone). Contacts and calendar came over with no problem, but email is nowhere to be found. I also tried going to My Account and adding an email account using gmail and the advanced settings listed on the Motorola website (see link below) but nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated (I already spent two hours in the Verizon store to no avail... mine was the first droid pro they had seen). Link to Motorola Gmail Instructions: https://motorola-global-portal.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/57906/p_country_code/US

kilofox

Reaction score
I think google is having issues today with Gmail... my Gmail is not syncing since this late morning.

I am on a Droid Incredible. Its not your phone... its google.

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
That is to add a second email acct.
Do you not have a "gmail" icon on your Pro?

OP
M

mctopher

Reaction score
I have the lower case "g" against the black background, that's the one that it walked me through setup originally. When I clock on the "Messaging" icon I see the universal inbox, text messaging and my corporate email. Under My Accounts I have the Phone (backup assistant), Corporate emaiol, and then the google account (lower case g). This is where I attempted to add an account for email using the gmail info and have had no luck.

jimbo11mcm

Reaction score
Email account on Pro