Safestrap-Manage Backups

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by JOSHSKORN, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. JOSHSKORN
    Offline

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I don't know where the folder was created on my Stock ROM backup. Obviously not my SD Card. I would like Safestrap to backup to the SD Card by default. I would also like to delete my existing backup. I'm on Safestrap 3.53 (the latest version).

    Anyone? Thanks!
     
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +334
    I'm only making assumptions here because SS is based off of TWRP....

    Go into SS, click backup and look to see if you see a box that says "save location" or something similar. If its not in there, check settings.

    To delete an old backup (make a new one first!) try clicking the restore tab, select the backup you want and there should be an erase option. Could also just delete it manually if you find the folder.

    And as to the save location, it will be internal by default. Check for folders on the root of your internal SD. Something like safe system or safe etc etc.

    If all of that was wrong I apologize lol.

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4
     
  3. JOSHSKORN
    Offline

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Found it. You were partially right. What I did was, tapped Backup, and then under the "Select Partitions to Backup" section, there are two buttons, and underneath it, one long button, labled Storage. Tap that and I was able to switch from Internal Storage to MicroSDCard.



    Again, you were partially right. I went into Restore, selected the Backup, and I'm able to select what options to backup. Underneath it are two buttons, Rename Backup and Delete Backup. I should note that because I'd changed the location in the Backup section, it was looking for backups on my SDCard, not my Internal Storage. I had to flip back to Internal Storage to see the Backup folder.

    and D'oh, as I did this, my screen went to screen saver mode, I swiped it to unlock and didn't see it unlock, and accidently swiped it again and ended up restoring my phone to what it was early this morning! Whoops! I'd done a whole mess of updates since then. Live an learn!

    How long does the restore take?? I'm getting a little worried. The bar is at the end and has been for a couple minutes.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
  4. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +334
    A restore typically can take 5-15 minutes from my experience depending on the amount of data.

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4
     
  5. JOSHSKORN
    Offline

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    It rebooted and as expected I'm having to uninstall a few things I uninstalled this morning. I'm a little worried though because the restore said it failed on Webtop. I'll plug my phone into my HD Station later on and see what happens.
     
  6. YellowJacket
    Offline

    YellowJacket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +35
    Josh, just to be sure you know...

    You only really need to do a backup once. Once you have created your safe slot for your custom ROM and installed it, you can easily switch between the two at bootup by choosing which one you want to use within safestrap. There is no need to re install your backup just to go back t the stock ROM. Essentially with safestrap, you are creating a multibooot environment where you can choose between which ROM you want to use.

    EDIT: just to be safe, I would recommend switching ROMS without webtop active and just do it through the phone only.

    David
     
  7. helron
    Offline

    helron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Interesting, but a bit confusing for me because I am not sure of what Webtop is for? What does it do? Shoud it be included in the backup within SS? Any help is appreciated. Thx! Oh! And is it Ok to store the SS backup on the external SC card and restore it form their also-or need it reside on internal card?
     
Search tags for this page
how to delete backup safestrap
,
restoring backup with safestrap 2.11
,
safestrap backup folder
,
safestrap backup folder location
,

safestrap backup location

,
safestrap backup what is backed up
,
safestrap dies not show old backups
,
safestrap location
,
safestrap razr backup
,
where does safestrap save backup