1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Router Suggestions

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by ZBacks, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. ZBacks
    Offline

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a Cisco-Linksys E2000 router now and am ready to throw it out the window. It has to be reset all of the time and has very inconsistent speeds when it does work. I'm looking for a new wireless N router that has similar specs to the E2000 but that actually works. Any suggestions?
  2. Mikejl
    Offline

    Mikejl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    What mix of B, G, and N do you have in your home. How large is your home? 2 Stories? Do you have the router upstairs or downstairs?

    The E2000 will run at 2.4 or 5 GHz so if you are running any B or G you would have to be running it at 2.4 GHz. Your N connection will run at N speeds until a G or B device connects then it will slow to those speeds.

    I have have the Cisco E3000 in my computer room downstairs which which runs at both 2.4 and 5 GHz Simultaneously and the E2000 upstairs acting as an extender running at 2.4 GHz.

    This setup gives me 2 wireless networks and I haven't had any of the problems you mention. You could do the same thing with just the E3000 if it fits your situation.

    Mike
  3. ZBacks
    Offline

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay that makes sense, but what would cause the router to not allow devices to connect at random times? Ill have to check my settings but Im almost positive that its running at 2.4. What should my other settings be to maximize the router?

    FYI: the devices that use the router are my Laptop, BB Storm, iPhone 3G and XBox 360.
  4. Mikejl
    Offline

    Mikejl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    Could be attenuation, the device is too far from the router, In that case an extender would help.

    Conflict with a neighbor's router could cause drops or problems connecting. You can try a different channel on your router to fix that. I believe the default is 11.

    Make sure the firmware on your router is flashed to the latest revision.

    If none of that helps then it could be the router.

    Mike
  5. ZBacks
    Offline

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My laptop is only about 20ft max from the router and I just updated the firmware. I guess I will change the channel and see if that works. This is the second router of this model to act like this, so I'm starting to wonder.........
  6. wolfson1
    Offline

    wolfson1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had all kinds of problems with several E2000's and had to return them all. Out of frustration, I hooked up my backup router, a Linksys WRT150N and suddenly it all worked again. Never looked back. Something to be said for a router with an external antenna, IMHO.
  7. Mikejl
    Offline

    Mikejl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    I don't know about the external antenna being much of a plus. I had the Linksys WRT600N and had to power cycle that thing daily in order get connections. It had external antenna's for 2.4 and 5 GHz and dropped connections all the time.

    Mike
  8. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Imho. Router setup, I have the E2000.. have 2 laptops, my droid, (ipod once in a while). Plus my desktop, I have a had droid, the 2 laptops and desktop running multiple nights never had issue just speed threw bands, my laptops are g band, my droid picks up the n band... my droid lightning fast... just my ol buck fiddy...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  9. RETG
    Offline

    RETG New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West of the Rockies, East of the Pacific
    I'll throw in for a D-Link N-Router. I have had at least 8 people cranking away at one time on my router a few months ago. And most of them were uploaded photo files to online servers. (I live in one of those places people like to visit, and since I'm a bachelor with a large house, guess where everyone stays.)

    Had Linksys a few years back and I always had to reset it at least once or twice a week. My D-link, I reset at least once a month, not because it has to be reset, but because I just do it due to a suggestion from a computer geek I know.dancedroid
  10. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    buffalo routers are great because they support open-source firmware. Flash linux-based dd-wrt firmware and you'll be GOLDEN.
Search tags for this page

cisco e2000 external antenna

,
cisco e2000 router have to be reset all the time
,
cisco linksys e2000 router as signal booster
,
e2000 antenna
,
e2000 antenna modification
,

linksys e2000 external antenna mod