Rooted with Update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by servantofelyon, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. servantofelyon

    servantofelyon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all, I've seen several people posting questions and wondering whether or not the newest update that came out (2.3.2) would change the root process and other things. That being said, I can confirm that on the Droid 2, rooting using the 'Easy 1-2-3 Root Process for D2' (link found below) does in fact still work. I had to try it 4 times but it did eventually root.

    Also nothing has changed in the /system/media folder to keep one from changing the boot animation, and the .zip downloadable here still permits you to change your boot logo.

    Hope someone finds this helpful!

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-hacks/80559-easy-1-2-3-root-process-d2-windows-linux-mac-coming-soon.html
     
  2. joker3572

    joker3572 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i did this and it says it worked but when i go to run titanium backup it say i dont have root access is there something im missing? It was rooted before the update and i lost it after
     
  3. servantofelyon

    servantofelyon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I lost root during the update as well. So when you ran the shell script it completed and said it was successful? If that is the case I don't know of anything you could have missed. My only experience is that it failed 3 times before it finally rooted.

    *edit* If the root was successful, it should have placed the 'Superuser' app in your app drawer. It may be that you haven't initiated that and allowed the command. If you haven't done so already, try downloading a Terminal emulator from the market. Once you have it, type in
    'su' (no quotes) and if you are rooted, it should return a number sign (#).
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. joker3572

    joker3572 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I finally got it to work Thanks
     
  5. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    There are several ways to restore root after upgrading. I have seen some post wiping cache and data after the update works, myself I went back into the adk and ran doroot, but another option that may work just fine is the z4root (available from the market) becauase it has a repair root feature, but I cannot confirm the z4 option since I am already running the upgrade and rooted

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. servantofelyon

    servantofelyon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I figured there were! I just could only attest for the version I tried.
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    And I also want to mention the z4Root free in the Market works as well too. Thats a 1 touch root app.
     
  8. Soxfan913

    Soxfan913 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    After the update you will lose root. I just re-rooted using the superoneclick method. Worked on the first try.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App