Root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by boogie739, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. boogie739

    boogie739 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks im new. How do u no if you rooted your phone?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you run through all the steps? You should see the super user app in your drawer.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. boogie739

    boogie739 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I see so what do I do next

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you can start getting root apps and think about adding a theme or rom.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. boogie739

    boogie739 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. boogie739

    boogie739 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root apps from were

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the marketplace. You can get screen capture apps like drocap or shootme, or you can get setcpu to underclock your processor. There's a whole new world available to you now.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    the market has a lot of them. search "root"
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Some suggestions:

    WiFi Tether, DroCap2, Root Explorer, Titanium Backup, Terminal Emulator.

    A neat trick is to install Terminal Emulator, open it, and then type su and hit enter. Nothing sweeter than seeing that # appear for the first time, proving you have root. :D
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    + 1 didn't think about that

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. boogie739

    boogie739 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Something is not working right for me

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  12. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    How so?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App