Root Explorer, Help!?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Mr Bear, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. Mr Bear

    Mr Bear New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just downloaded root explorer. Now I am wondering how exactly do I remove the pre-installed apps that verizon installed on my phone. Can anyone help me out here?

    Thanks in advance - Bear.
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    go to system/app and change .apk to .bak then u are good to go
     
  3. Mr Bear

    Mr Bear New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot.. I tried to remove some things but there's just SO MANY apps and stuff.. Is it possible that there's a list somewhere that can tell me what's safe to remove and what isn't Or a list that tells me what everything listed in the app folder is?
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
  5. Jedidr0id

    Jedidr0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't remove any of the bloatware. I just simply renamed them to .bak.
     
  6. XxXxX

    XxXxX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any know the name for the media share apk to remove i cant find it?
     
  7. prtsmgr

    prtsmgr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Found the answer on xda forums

    It is HomeSyncWizard.apk
     
  8. XxXxX

    XxXxX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you, finally its gone. Appreciate the post.

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  9. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    21,755
    Likes Received:
    3,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,055
    Just know when you go to do an ota it will fail. The ota's search for your stock apps (ehich is why I freeze them). To do an ota just flash an sbf to stock and then install the ota.
     
  10. rectrix55

    rectrix55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is the difference between renaming them .bak and freezing them?

    if you delete any of the bloatware apps like amazon or blockbuster will an android or ota update fail?
     
  11. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    As previously stated, the update will fail if the pre-installed software is not present.

    I believe freezing them just means they won't start, renaming is changing the name of the current file.
    I created a separate directory and moved all of the unwanted apps there. If I have to update I can just go to that directory and do [mv * ..].
     
  12. rectrix55

    rectrix55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks. I didnt know if stock apps meant system apps or if that included everything (amazon etc...)
     
Search tags for this page
dont have mount button on root explorer
,
how do i freeze the vzw update with rootexpoler
,
mount rw button not on root browser
,
root explorer help
,

root explorer no mount button

,
root explorer no mount r w button
,
root explorer no r w button
,
root+explorer+no+mount button
,
what is app freeze root explorer
,
where to find mount button on root explorer