ROM Questions

jstrick5

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm a software developer with pretty good tech knowledge and skill however I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to ROMS and android. I've got a couple questions that I'd greatly appreciate anyone with more experience than me answering!

1) After installing a ROM, are future versions of that ROM incremental or are they full reloads (for lack of a better term). My concern is that I install a new ROM, set my phone up the way I like it then a week later a new version is released and given my nature of wanting the "latest and greatest" I'm back to rebuilding my phone again, redownloading all my apps, setting up exchange, etc.

2) If every ROM install is a fresh start, is there an enviornment backup utility(s) to avoid this? I use LauncherPro and can back up those settings but what about more system wide settings and accounts?

3) *More Specific to me* I have a droid X, anyone know if there's an actual AOSP ROM out there or something completely "Blurless" that is stable? I went from the Droid I to the X and am disgusted with what motorolla has done to what used to be an awesome experience to the point where I never really gave serious thought to loading a ROM on the Droid I. Currently I'm leaning toward either RubiX, ApeX, or Fission

Thanks ahead of time for any informative feedback!

ballmore

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm a software developer with pretty good tech knowledge and skill however I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to ROMS and android. I've got a couple questions that I'd greatly appreciate anyone with more experience than me answering!