ROM Question

roaddaw9

Reaction score
OK I know that answer to many of these questions might be hidden in other threads, however I am having problems bringing them to together. So my ultimate question is how are people running ROMs on the DroidX. Right now I am running stock rom that was rooted via z4root. I am interested in running a rom, but once I do can I go back to a stock rom? What other information do I need to know? Anyone have a suggested good guide to how to go from stock / root to modified rom / root? Thanks for any assistance as I am a newbie at the DroidX portion of this. I did have my Droid1 with Bugless Beast so I am not completely in the dark however.

scarmack

Reaction score
Download Bootstrap(from the market)
That allows you to boot into clockwork recovery

then go to the ROMs section of this droid x forum. Download any rom you like. Im running the new gummy and its running great!

Each Rom usually comes with its own set of directions but usually it involves the following

Place Downloaded rom onto sd card
Boot into Clockwork
locate zip from sd
choose zip from sd
install zip
reboot
enjoy

Some require to mount the system, others require to wipe/factory reset. just read the install instructions included in the thread

Edit, one post instead of 3.

Here ill help you out.

Rom Section
Droid X Roms - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

ROMs are labeled [ROM] in the title

Here is gummy, what im running
[ROM] GummyJAR - Stripped down and geared towards SPEED!!!! - release 1.0 - 12/08

here are instructions that i pulled directly from the gummy thread

Install:
make sure you have root and clockworks recovery installed
Waring!!!! Make sure you are on 2.3.320 or 2.3.340!!!
-boot into recovery via clockworks bootstrap
-select "wipe data/factory reset"
-select "Yes -- delete all data"
-go back "powerbutton"
-select "install zip from sdcard"
-select "choose zip from sdcard"
-find and select DX/D2_GummyJAR-X.X.zip
-reboot