Restart Phone For Apps To Work

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by crackmuffin, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. crackmuffin

    crackmuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    does everyone havee this issue? every day or two i have to restart my phone because all of my apps quit working, and when they quit working if i try to play my music it says that the droid doesnt play this type of file and resets all my ringtones. happens randomly and i have to turn the phone off and back on for everything to work again. is this normal?
    also its a droid 2, and i've had it for about two weeks. theyve already reset it for other issues, and this was one of those issues before.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2010
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    sounds like maybe a bad app or possible a hardware issue if you are having this many issues already.
     
  3. crackmuffin

    crackmuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so do you think i should continue or get a new droid? im not sure if it reset properly because he told me while he was resetting it that i should download my apps slowly to see if one of them is causing the issue, but by the time i got home my phone loaded completely and all my apps were still there and working. i thought the reset would get rid of them all.
     
  4. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    A factory reset should clear everything - if it didn't then something wasn't done right, unfortunately I cannot precisely direct you to the factory reset on the D2 as I am an Original Droid Owner - I am sure someone will be able to direct you though
     
  5. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    they auto-synced back. If they already did a factory reset and it is still having issues it could be a bad app like I said but the only way to tell would be to unistall them one by one. Can you list the apps you have if you don't mind.
     
  6. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Settings < Privacy < Perform Factory Reset
     
  7. crackmuffin

    crackmuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the downloaded apps i have on my phone are..
    advanced task killer
    angry birds
    AppRemover
    backgrounds
    calorie counter
    color flashlight
    Color Note (downloaded today, prob not the problem )
    dog teaser ( also recently )
    connect4 (also recently)
    Drink Water Beta
    Friday the movie soundbourd
    G1 Psycho
    MSN Droid X
    Pandora
    PoliceAlert Lite
    Sniper(recently)
    the hangover soundboard
    useless facts
    and thats it, all of the apps i have are on the top downloads list pretty much. any of these known to cause this problem?
     
  8. vatothe0

    vatothe0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Task killer is a known problem
     
  9. crackmuffin

    crackmuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    will this delete all my photos, videos & contacts?
     
  10. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
  11. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93


    Photo's and Videos are stored on the SD, so no and your contacts are backed up with Google - to be sure Sync first
     
  12. crackmuffin

    crackmuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ill uninstall it right now, and the guy who set up my uncles droid told him to set the settings on aggressive or something so it runs in the background and kills tasks every 30 min regardless, thats what its set on mine.
     
  13. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Contacts yes, but they're synced to the cloud and will restore themselves when you add your Google account again.

    It shouldnt touch photos or videos, as long as they're on the SD card.
     
  14. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    will not delete any of those, photos and videos are on the sd card and contacts save to your google account and should re-sync after the reset but I would try to uninstall the task killer before you do another reset.
     
  15. mdowns989

    mdowns989 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central Coast Ca.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Turn OFF the auto backup/Restore AFTER you reset phone but BEFORE you add your Google info... gmail acct.
    Then apps wont auto install
     
Search tags for this page

android phones need to be restarted everyday

,
having to restart my htc phone to get apps to work
,
need to restart phone to work