Redraws on adw

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by eodlrd, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. eodlrd

    eodlrd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having alot of Redraws on adw. Running Ud2.5 on my d1.

    Tried updating adw through the market but it cannot install. Says package signed incorrectly. Any way to fix this? I would like to update it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. Ronbo19

    Ronbo19 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Best fix is cutting down on screens & widgets
     
  4. Split630

    Split630 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My buddy was having some bad redraws on 2.4 and fixed it by flashing a different kernel. I understand it's a different ROM but it could be worth a try. He went from a Slayer to a Chevy.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. en28so

    en28so Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Ratings:
    +1
    What I do is go into the adw settings and choose "system persistent " which will not allow your homescreen from rotating. This will prevent redraws. I have tons of widgets on my screens, and no redraws.
     
  6. en28so

    en28so Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Ratings:
    +1
    What I did was to go to the adw settings and choose " system persistent " which will not allow your homescreen from rotating. This will prevent redraws. I have tons of widgets on my screens, and no redraws.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    I use the lock home in memory option in CM. Is there a similar option in UD? It doesn't stop them 100% but it's close enough for government work -- AND the times the OS kills the launcher it REALLY REALLY NEEDS TO. :)

    And yes, cutting down on widgets will help. Good luck!
     
  8. b-jammin21

    b-jammin21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Instead of cutting down on homescreens and widgets, I think that you should be able to use those featues that are provided and a concrete, permanent fix needs to come up for this issue. I am one that gets tons of redraws with any launcher (i.e. adw, lp, etc.). I have 4 screens and 5 widgets. This shouldn't be "too much." Once a launcher comes out that allows me to actually use all the features and not have any consequences (redraws and lag) for doing so, I will be making a generous donation because this is a very frustrating matter. After trying all the solutions I could find and having no permanent fix, I am anxiously awaiting one that will actually work.

    Sent from my Droid using my Droid
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    There's a very simple fix. You just open up the motherboard and replace the RAM that's soldered on there with ultra-high-density chips. About 1GB should do.
     
  10. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^+1

    @bjammin have you tried zeam?
     
  11. b-jammin21

    b-jammin21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I haven't tried zeam too much because I like all the features of go, LP, adw etc. Does zeam have less redraws?

    Sent from my Droid using my Droid
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    There's Go Launcher. I know one of the members of the RS speaks highly of it.
     
  13. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no firsthand experience but I think both are geared to be lightweight. Also, I uninstall or .bak the launchers that aren't my default.
     
  14. b-jammin21

    b-jammin21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    GO seams to be the best for me so far, especially when I have "lock home in memory" option selected in UD settings...

    Sent from my Droid using my Droid
     
  15. ChodeNode

    ChodeNode Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd just like to say this has really cut down on the amount of redraw I get.
     
Search tags for this page

how to avoid a adw charge