1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Redraws on adw

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by eodlrd, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. eodlrd
    Offline

    eodlrd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having alot of Redraws on adw. Running Ud2.5 on my d1.

    Tried updating adw through the market but it cannot install. Says package signed incorrectly. Any way to fix this? I would like to update it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. Ronbo19
    Offline

    Ronbo19 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Best fix is cutting down on screens & widgets
  4. Split630
    Offline

    Split630 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My buddy was having some bad redraws on 2.4 and fixed it by flashing a different kernel. I understand it's a different ROM but it could be worth a try. He went from a Slayer to a Chevy.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. en28so
    Offline

    en28so New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    What I do is go into the adw settings and choose "system persistent " which will not allow your homescreen from rotating. This will prevent redraws. I have tons of widgets on my screens, and no redraws.
  6. en28so
    Offline

    en28so New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    What I did was to go to the adw settings and choose " system persistent " which will not allow your homescreen from rotating. This will prevent redraws. I have tons of widgets on my screens, and no redraws.
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I use the lock home in memory option in CM. Is there a similar option in UD? It doesn't stop them 100% but it's close enough for government work -- AND the times the OS kills the launcher it REALLY REALLY NEEDS TO. :)

    And yes, cutting down on widgets will help. Good luck!
  8. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Instead of cutting down on homescreens and widgets, I think that you should be able to use those featues that are provided and a concrete, permanent fix needs to come up for this issue. I am one that gets tons of redraws with any launcher (i.e. adw, lp, etc.). I have 4 screens and 5 widgets. This shouldn't be "too much." Once a launcher comes out that allows me to actually use all the features and not have any consequences (redraws and lag) for doing so, I will be making a generous donation because this is a very frustrating matter. After trying all the solutions I could find and having no permanent fix, I am anxiously awaiting one that will actually work.

    Sent from my Droid using my Droid
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    There's a very simple fix. You just open up the motherboard and replace the RAM that's soldered on there with ultra-high-density chips. About 1GB should do.
  10. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^+1

    @bjammin have you tried zeam?
  11. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't tried zeam too much because I like all the features of go, LP, adw etc. Does zeam have less redraws?

    Sent from my Droid using my Droid
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    There's Go Launcher. I know one of the members of the RS speaks highly of it.
  13. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have no firsthand experience but I think both are geared to be lightweight. Also, I uninstall or .bak the launchers that aren't my default.
  14. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GO seams to be the best for me so far, especially when I have "lock home in memory" option selected in UD settings...

    Sent from my Droid using my Droid
  15. ChodeNode
    Offline

    ChodeNode New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson
    I'd just like to say this has really cut down on the amount of redraw I get.
Search tags for this page

how to avoid a adw charge