Radio Update Necessary

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by SLOflatlander, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. SLOflatlander
    Offline

    SLOflatlander New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like most people with a rooted phone, i plan to run a froyo rom. but the 2.0 radio update seems very sketchy right now, and from what i've read it may not even be the same as the official one that is planned to soon be released. i want to install the pmf desensitized rom since i use launcher pro anyway, but it seems that thus far all froyo roms besides CM6 require an updated baseband. right now, i dont really want to update the baseband because it seems really sketchy and all that. my question is, what are the advantages to it? and if this version ends up not being the official one, then how difficult will it be to undo ot and reapply the better one? im assuming it will still require the same complicated and risky steps, which to me makes it more worth it to just wait and see how things play out. Is the radio update process found on xda really necessary to get a good froyo rom, or can i just wait until a process a little cleaner is released? or is it going to take a long time to reroot stock 2.2 (or will people even bother with that, idk see why it would be it any different than what happened with the droid where it used to be necessary to downgrade to 2.0 then root)
  2. tweedies411
    Offline

    tweedies411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    The radio update is not necessary to run the official froyo/froyo roms built from the newest leak. Many people have said to have their camcorder crash and something with gmail, but i have not experienced those problems. I'm currently running skyraider 2.0.1 which you can find on rom manager
  3. doug piston
    Offline

    doug piston Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ummmm. No that is some wrong info. To do the leak Froyo w/sense you do need to update the radio.
  4. tweedies411
    Offline

    tweedies411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    ummm, its not wrong info, here's a screenshot of my incredible.

    [​IMG]
  5. doug piston
    Offline

    doug piston Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you can use your rom without it but the offical leak it is required.

    [ROM]Leaked Stock 2.2 with Sense [LEAKED ROM - SOME BUGS!!] - xda-developers

    The skyraider dev even says after ota radio only..
    [ROM] Sky Raider 2.0 [Everything Working & De-odexed!!!] UPDATED: 07/28/2010 - xda-developers

    FULL WIPE v2.0.1 - POST OTA RADIO ONLY
    This is a full wipe and available through ROM Manager. It is required that you already have the leaked OTA radio installed. Everything works in this build and it is fully deodexed like the previous builds so enjoy! *UPDATE: Includes fixes (see changelog)
  6. SLOflatlander
    Offline

    SLOflatlander New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    other than the risk, are there any possible negative associations with updating to 2.x baseband?
Search tags for this page
droid incredible 2 radio update
,
droid incredible 2 stock radio
,
how to add a radio to droid incredible
,

htc incredible no radio