Problems with root/unroot/install of new update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by opiumskittles, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. opiumskittles
    Offline

    opiumskittles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so I got a new Droid 2 and read all the faqs about rooting the phone and whatnot. I followed the guide on the unlockr for the superoneclick root method. All I wanted to do was delete some of the apps that were pre-installed (blockbuster, facebook, etc.)

    I then used the button to unroot my phone. Now, I'm getting updates about the new OS 2.3.20. I download it, the phone resets, and halfway through installing the update fails and my phone boots.

    Someone told me it could be because I rooted my phone. But I could have sworn it unrooted properly. Is there any way to tell if it is rooted/unrooted? Or why else might the update be failing?

    Thanks
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Deleting some of the "bloat" could cause this issue. What exactly did you remove?

    DroidForums junkie!
  3. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    The deletion of bloat is what caused it to fail. I believe the bloat apps are available in a thread that is stickied at the top of this section.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  4. opiumskittles
    Offline

    opiumskittles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure all I deleted were the blockbuster, facebook, and twitter apps that were on there. If I actually uninstalled other things and can't figure out what they are, would a factory reset work?
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2010
  5. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    No a factory reset wont get back the apks you deleted. Like I said the apps are all available here.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. opiumskittles
    Offline

    opiumskittles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, I got them. I guess if it doesn't work I'll just go through them one by one. Guess i learned to keep track of what I deleted.

    Thanks for the help though
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Isn't there a list somewhere of what CAN be removed? If not, there should be!



    DroidForums junkie!
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Yes. An even better thing to do than delete apps, for future use, is to use titanium backup to freeze apps. Then when its update time you can just thaw them out.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I think there is a list somewhere but updates will fail even if you remove only one of them regardless of which it is.


    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. opiumskittles
    Offline

    opiumskittles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason the installation of CityID continually fails. Do I need to do something special to my phone?
  11. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Very true!



    DroidForums junkie!
  12. opiumskittles
    Offline

    opiumskittles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know how to reinstall cityid?
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Sorry but I have no insight in to that issue. I don't delete my apps so I'm not sure what's causing the issue.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  14. opiumskittles
    Offline

    opiumskittles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now i totally screwed things up...

    So, I thought I could just replace a lot of the files and see if it overwrote any of them to try to get them all back. I guess I accidentally chose some of the blur files, because the phone did a reset. Now things like the alarm clock and the calendar are missing from my apps list. I don't have a backup..

    And when I try to update it says "System update" is not available without a motorola service account.

    Is there any way to get this all back to stock?
  15. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Well at this point you may have to do an sbf back to stock. Its a drastic measure though so you might want to wait for someone else to chime in.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  16. opiumskittles
    Offline

    opiumskittles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At this point, I'd be more than happy to do the sbf restore and just get everything to stock.

    However, I'm following the instructions that I find, and I still just can't seem to get the phone to be recognized by RSD lite and now am thoroughly confused.

    And yes, I'm following the guides that I've found all over the internet.

    Does your phone need to be rooted first to use RSD lite?
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2010