Installed 2.3 and then... unrooted

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by jlb13085, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    First I would like to say hello to everyone as I am a new poster, not a new reader. Secondly, I admit in advance that I'm an idiot. So...

    I installed the new leaked 2.3 gingerbread on my X with no problems and loved it. My wife liked it and wanted me to put it on her Droid 2. So I proceeded to root her phone and install the d2 zip with bootstrap like I did on my phone with no problems.

    Now she insisted that I unroot the phone when I was done, so I did, thinking I was finished. Then I found out swype was inoperable due to whatever reasons. Swype is a must for her. Now replacing the production swype with the beta swype is easy... on a rooted device. I unrooted a brand new OS and now have no way to root it back to fix this issue UNLESS...

    ...there is a way to get into clockwork recovery without being rooted. I did have the presence of mind to do a back up while I was in there initially. That is the only thing I can think of. If anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it. Otherwise this phone is in limbo and I'm in the dog house :)


    Jamie

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. Cozmicgames
    Offline

    Cozmicgames New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you add tags, you might actually find someone to help you with this problem.
  3. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    What is that and how do I do it lol

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. d3vilfish
    Offline

    d3vilfish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nevada
    Your going to have to sbf

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    Obviously I'm completely unfamiliar with sbf and tagging

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. Cozmicgames
    Offline

    Cozmicgames New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tagging is at the bottom when you make a thread, if you dont put anything in there, the only way for people to find this is to look through all the threads and hopefully find yours, in the tagging, you want to put something like "droid 2, gingerbread 2.3 problems, gingerbread 2.3, hack problems, hack failure" these are things that people can put in a search box to find this thread, i am new at this too, so im not sure but i think that once you add the thread, you can no longer edit it, so i would copy and paste what you already have here into a new thread, and add something along the lines of what i listed in the tags box, it should be right above the button to post, and i cant help you with your actual problem, but im just trying to help you find help.
  7. nate.fehr
    Offline

    nate.fehr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a Droid Eris I was repairing after the keyboard (yes really) was deleted. I had no root, no file manager, and had to figure out a way to install the apk without all that and no keyboard.

    It took hours, but some excellent mods on an Eris forum taught me how to use ADB enough to get it working. I would suggest trying that before you resort to sbf-ing. I had a blast doing it and now I am more informed about the workings of Android in general.

    Plus it makes you feel like an awesome Linux guru to bang out terminal commands. ;)

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    I will google that. Thanks

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. nate.fehr
    Offline

    nate.fehr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as ADB goes, its pretty heady stuff. You'd do well to do LOTS of research before going to far.

    What I can tell you is that it's a way to push commands to the android system using your PC. Beyond that I'm no help. Good luck, though. Someone will be along to help you, maybe mcp or someone.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    I'm about to attempt sbf without a computer. Hate to do that because all that work updating it would be in vain and i'd have to start over, all over a keyboard. Needless to say, her phone will stay rooted this time.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. deejay1111
    Offline

    deejay1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OR-ih-guhn
    I don't think you can SBF without a computer.... Your best bet would be to follow the procedure here....
    TBH & MyDroidWorld Present: Droid 2 (2.3.20) Triple Threat

    Ignore the first part of the post and start where it says "UPDATE" in the OP. This will put you back to the last official update of Froyo. Then you will need to root and install Recovery so you can reinstall the rooted version of GB.

    It may be a longer process, but best to be safe. Maybe someone with a little more knowledge than I will come along, but I don't recommend trying to SBF without a computer.
  12. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    Can't do that, like I said, my phone has to be rooted to install zip from sd card. Thanks though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    you don't install an sbf file from the sd card. you need to apply the full sbf from rsd lite on your computer
  14. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    And this will take me back to froyo 2.2 stock?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    yes it will take you back to the official 2.3.2 froyo build and then if you choose to you can flash back to gingerbread, after roting of course.
  16. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    Ok trying that now. Thanks.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  17. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    let me know if you need help using rsd lite
  18. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    That will be hours from now at the rate this moto connect stuff is downloading. I think I understand based on that article. I've got rsd lite file downloaded on my phone and the sbf and rsd on the computer. Once this driver downloads, I assume I plug up the phone and let it do its thing.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  19. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Be sure you have the full 2.3.340 SBF and use either rsdlite 4.8 or 4.9
  20. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    I am using 4.8 and there was only one sbf file in that zip folder. It's already in the works now. Fingers crossed.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums