Root Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by cropcirclejerk, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. cropcirclejerk

    cropcirclejerk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, this is my first time using this forum :) I have a question about rooting, I have been thinking about doing this to my new Droid 2 and I keep going back and forth... I like being able to update automaticly but I also despise having this bloatware on my phone (City ID, Blockbuster, ect.). So I was thinking, what if I were to root, remove these programs, than unroot, is that possible? Thanks in advance.

    -Chris

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. cropcirclejerk

    cropcirclejerk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump*

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    When you removed the root these programs have to be in place. I don't think you can do that.

    I have used a one step rooting method which I have described here. It does allow me to go back to stock anytime I want but I'm certain those programs will be back on my Droid if I do that.
     
  4. cropcirclejerk

    cropcirclejerk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so, I went ahead and took the plunge. I used z4Root, uninstalled the bloatware using TiBackup, installed AdFree, and than unrooted. Rebooted the phone and it works! No ads, no blockbuster or skype or any other useless programs cluttering my phone. Now to wait and see if automatic updates still work.... we will see :)

    -Chris

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ota uodates wont work unless all of the bloatware is present.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    Did you backup everything that you were going to uninstall first? You will need a back up of the apps you remove if you ever have to go back to stock and warranty your phone.
     
  7. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    +1 This is correct.
     
  8. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's why I always suggest using titanium to freeze them rather than delete them.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. cropcirclejerk

    cropcirclejerk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No..... I didn't back them up :( from what the first reply here was saying is that once I unrooted, it would replace those apps. Suppose I misunderstood... so did I just screw myself here? As far as freezing goes, I used the free version of Ti, freezing wasn't available :( so now what can I do? I still want my updates, but I don't want these damn apps :(

    -Chris

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well as of now I would imagine you'll have to sbf back to stock when the next update comes out. I could be wrong though, there may be an easier solution.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. cropcirclejerk

    cropcirclejerk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im sorry, sbf?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  12. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its a way of restoring the phone to an out of the box state.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  13. cropcirclejerk

    cropcirclejerk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a pita :( when the new update comes out, will my phone attempt to update? Id rather leave my phone the way it is til I absolutely have to. Or is there another way I can find out an update has been released?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  14. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually i'm not positive it will restore those apps. Someone will be by shortly with more comprehensive answers.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  15. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Either that or get whatever .apk files he needs. RS squad I believe has them.

    I'm in the same boat he is. I deleted about 5 pieces of bloatware, I remember 2. What will happen is the message you get will say update failed because (enter app) was not present. So you will need to get that .apk file. It will bring them up one at a time.