Root Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by cropcirclejerk, Nov 11, 2010.

1. cropcirclejerk

cropcirclejerk New Member

Hello, this is my first time using this forum :) I have a question about rooting, I have been thinking about doing this to my new Droid 2 and I keep going back and forth... I like being able to update automaticly but I also despise having this bloatware on my phone (City ID, Blockbuster, ect.). So I was thinking, what if I were to root, remove these programs, than unroot, is that possible? Thanks in advance.

-Chris

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  2. cropcirclejerk

Bump*

3. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

When you removed the root these programs have to be in place. I don't think you can do that.

I have used a one step rooting method which I have described here. It does allow me to go back to stock anytime I want but I'm certain those programs will be back on my Droid if I do that.
  4. cropcirclejerk

Ok so, I went ahead and took the plunge. I used z4Root, uninstalled the bloatware using TiBackup, installed AdFree, and than unrooted. Rebooted the phone and it works! No ads, no blockbuster or skype or any other useless programs cluttering my phone. Now to wait and see if automatic updates still work.... we will see :)

-Chris

5. spaz33g

spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

Ota uodates wont work unless all of the bloatware is present.

6. Quicksilver7714

Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

Did you backup everything that you were going to uninstall first? You will need a back up of the apps you remove if you ever have to go back to stock and warranty your phone.
  7. Quicksilver7714

Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

+1 This is correct.
  8. spaz33g

That's why I always suggest using titanium to freeze them rather than delete them.

9. cropcirclejerk