PRO Powering down at random

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by adrenaline343, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. adrenaline343

    adrenaline343 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone else have a problem with their PRO shutting off at random times....While the phone is sitting there or mid conversation. I called Tech support twice....the first time my phone shutoff mid conversation and i had to call them back.... and the second time they seriously told me to turn it off and turn it on again.
     
  2. mystery252

    mystery252 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup. Have the same problem.



    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  3. oriald

    oriald New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here! :(

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  4. adrenaline343

    adrenaline343 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    were any of you guys able to fix it?
     
  5. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Luckily I haven't encountered this problem yet. Hopefully you guys are able to get it straightened out.
     
  6. Stay

    Stay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had my Pro for about a month and never had an issue with it turning off. That is, until last night when it woke me up with the Droid startup sound.

    My phone is not rooted. It is running the latest version of the Motorola software.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  7. macstibs

    macstibs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone has rebooted a number of times unexpectedly. I changed the startup sound file form .ogg to .bak so there's no sound that gives it away, but it's happened a couple of times while I was using it and the battery timer isn't always accurate (suggesting the phone reset itself).
     
  8. eus107709

    eus107709 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeeup. It seems to happen when reception is weak or when the phone is scanning for other networks to connect to. My phone rarely resets itself in the States (though it happened last night), but the problem was very apparent when i was in Europe. On a cross country train, kept hearing "Drooooooid". I stopped it from resetting itself by putting it into airplane mode..that confirmed it for me.

    Hopefully they come up with a fix for it...

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  9. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    My just did it to me for the first time I have had it about a week. Not rooted and running latest software just heard the "Droid" sound all of a sudden while it was charging.
     
  10. macstibs

    macstibs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The last time that it happened while I was using it was in Google Maps. The system slowed to a crawl and eventually shutdown/rebooted. Seemed like there was a leak or a runaway process.
     
  11. macstibs

    macstibs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just installed Tasker and configured an Auto GPS task to turn on GPS when I launch Maps. Launched Maps and BAM - Reboot.
     
  12. flash24

    flash24 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Must be the SD Card, try formating it.
     
Search tags for this page
droid pro shut down
,

droid pro shuts off randomly

,
droid pro shutting off randomly