Post Rooting Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by northeastern, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. northeastern

    northeastern New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello I just rooted my droid 2 and all went well but now i have a few questions.

    I used titanium backup to backup all user apps and system data. is this what i need to do to make sure i have a fall back if something were to happen when installing new roms?


    or should i install bootstrap (do i need to buy it from the app store) backup with that?




    And finally is bootstrap required for flashing new roms?


    Sorry for the dumb questions and thanks for your help
     
    #1 northeastern, Apr 19, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    No dumb questions, we're all learning :)

    For a /system and /data backup, you'll need Bootstrap to flash Clockworkmod Recovery and backup there (also where ROMs, themes, etc are flashed/installed). Titanium is great when you're doing factory reset between ROMs so you don't lose the data of your apps (ie progress in Angry Birds, etc) but, it won't help if something goes wrong.

    If you need help with anything, let me know

    This thread has been Thunder struck!
     
  3. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    By the way, :welcome: to DroidForums!

    This thread has been Thunder struck!
     
  4. northeastern

    northeastern New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i think Im starting to get it. so it doesn't hurt to have things backed-up with titanium but if i wanted to go and restore current settings say a month from now i would go through bootstrap and restore the backup i am currently making then i would go to titanium and restore that saved data and all would be exactly back to what i have now?
     
  5. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Your backup already has your data as well. A backup has everything in it. Titanium is more for going forward. Now, if you ran a ROM for a bit and say, moved up a few levels in a game, then restored a backup, you can use TB to bring that data to your backup.

    This thread has been Thunder struck!
     
  6. northeastern

    northeastern New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oooh ok that makes sense. so basically bootstrap is a more full backup where tb is meant to be used more often to backup smaller things like game levels and such.


    If I loaded a rom with bootsrap would i think load my saved data from TB to get all my apps and such up with that rom or is that automatically done? (i think i read you need to wipe your system before installing most roms)
     
  7. djakrse

    djakrse Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +12
    Coolest tapa app sig I've seen, love it. I don't even own a tbolt. :D
     
  8. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Yes, Bootstrap flashes Clockworkmod Recovery and boots you into it to make/restore backups, flash ROMs, themes, etc, and more (in advanced option). Before flashing ROMs, a factory/data and cache wipe should be done (after a new backup of course) for best results. Then, when the new ROM has booted up (first boots can take up to 5 minutes), open TB and you'll see your apps at the bottom with a line through them. Touch the ones you want to restore, select restore, and app+data and you're done :)

    This thread has been Thunder struck!
     
  9. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Haha! Thanks :)

    This thread has been Thunder struck!
     
  10. djakrse

    djakrse Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +12
    You need an AC/DC boot animation
     
  11. northeastern

    northeastern New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a new question after searching on here a bit. so i have my backuo with bootsrap, but when reading the difference between rom manager and bootsrap i kept reading about clockwork recovery. what is this? do i have that covered with my backup i created in bootsrap?
     
  12. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Clockwork is where you made your backup (the DOS looking screen with green text). Now if I understand correctly the clockwork on d2 bootstrap and rom manager is the same. But I also think that on the d2 you need to use d2 bootstrap and click on bootstrap and then go into rom manager and flash clockwork recovery. You could also just do it all from d2 bootstrap recovery app. Seems easier.

    Sent from my rooted DROID2